Skip to content

Your Guide to Medical Assistant Schools in San Jose, CA

Compare accredited programs by cost, length, and format to find the right fit for your schedule and budget.

By Jennifer GubblerReviewed by Editorial StaffUpdated August 29, 202625+ min read

Most important takeaways…

  • Medical assistants in San Jose earn a median $61,490 annually.
  • San Jose City College's certificate costs just $1,366 for in-state students.
  • CALRegional's hybrid program offers the area's most flexible evening schedule.

San Jose's healthcare sector employs thousands of clinical support staff across systems like Kaiser Permanente, Santa Clara Valley Medical Center, and a sprawling network of outpatient specialty clinics, all fueled in part by the population and economic growth that Silicon Valley sustains. For those weighing the pros and cons of being a medical assistant, the local training options range from community college certificates under $1,400 to private programs topping $36,000, with timelines spanning roughly 8 to 24 months.

Eight accredited programs are located within commuting distance of central San Jose, offering certificate and associate degree tracks with evening, weekend, and hybrid scheduling. Median MA pay in the metro area runs around $61,490, well above the national figure, though your earning potential depends heavily on which credential you hold and where you land clinically.

Jump straight to the program list →

San Jose's Healthcare Job Market for Medical Assistants

One path leads through the massive hospital campuses of the South Bay, where medical assistants are part of large clinical teams inside major health systems. The other threads through a dense network of community clinics, specialty offices, and urgent care centers that line Highways 101 and 280. Whichever route a new graduate chooses, San Jose's healthcare job market offers a mix of settings that shapes both daily work and long-term career growth.

Major Employers and Work Settings

The San Jose metro area is anchored by several large employers that regularly hire medical assistants. Kaiser Permanente San Jose, Regional Medical Center (an HCA facility), Good Samaritan Hospital, Santa Clara Valley Medical Center, and El Camino Health are among the biggest players. These institutions run not only hospitals but also satellite clinics and specialty departments, creating a steady demand for clinical support staff. Alongside them, the corridors of 101 and 280 host numerous outpatient clinics, independent physician practices, and urgent care chains where medical assistants often have more direct patient interaction and varied daily responsibilities. For graduates looking at nearby cities, the job market also extends to Santa Clara, Sunnyvale, Milpitas, Campbell, and Fremont, all within a reasonable commute and home to their own healthcare facilities.

Compensation and Cost of Living

Recent metro-area data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics shows 6,420 medical assistants employed in the San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara MSA, earning a median annual wage of $61,940. The lower quarter of earners make around $51,390, while the top quarter reach $78,120 or more. These figures place San Jose among the higher-paying metros for the medical assistant salary nationally. However, this earnings picture must be weighed against the region's cost of living, which remains one of the highest in the United States. While the median wage surpasses the national average, rent, transportation, and everyday expenses in Silicon Valley can absorb a significant portion of that income. Prospective students should view the salary numbers as a starting point and think realistically about budgeting for the local economy.

Job Market Reach and Growth

National projections for medical assistants point to a 12% job growth between 2024 and 20342, much faster than the average for all occupations, with about 112,300 annual openings nationwide.2 While metro-level forecasts aren't always published, the San Jose area's aging population and expanding healthcare infrastructure suggest sustained demand locally. Graduates who are flexible about job location can also tap into openings in the adjacent communities of Santa Clara, Sunnyvale, Milpitas, Campbell, and Fremont, each with its own mix of hospitals and outpatient centers. The concentration of tech-driven healthcare innovation in the region may further open doors to roles in telemedicine support or clinical research coordination that build on a medical assistant foundation.

California's Unique Scope of Practice

California grants medical assistants a broader medical assistant scope of practice than many other states, which can affect both job duties and hiring demand. Under state law, medical assistants may perform certain clinical tasks that elsewhere require a nurse or other licensed professional, provided they have appropriate training and are supervised by a licensed physician or podiatrist. This expanded role makes MAs particularly valuable in busy practices and may strengthen employment prospects. A later section of this guide explores these regulations in greater detail, but for now it's enough to know that training in California sets graduates up for a hands-on clinical experience from day one.

What It Takes to Become a Medical Assistant in California

California does not require medical assistants to hold a state license. This means the barrier to entry is lower than in many healthcare roles, but the path still demands deliberate planning.

How California Defines the MA Role

Under Business and Professions Code sections 2069 through 2071, medical assistants work as unlicensed allied health workers who perform basic administrative, clerical, and technical support services. The law requires that a licensed practitioner, such as a physician, podiatrist, physician assistant, nurse practitioner, or nurse midwife, be physically on the premises whenever an MA performs non-invasive technical tasks. You can administer intradermal, subcutaneous, and intramuscular injections and perform skin tests after completing the prescribed training, but you cannot start or disconnect IVs, inject medications into IV lines, insert urinary catheters, chart pupillary responses, or inject collagen. Those hard boundaries protect both patients and practitioners.1

Certification Is Not Required, but Employers Expect It

Because California has no state licensure mandate, you can technically work as a medical assistant without certification. In practice, most San Jose clinics and hospital systems prefer or outright require national certification. Two credentials dominate the local job market: the Certified Medical Assistant designation, administered by the American Association of Medical Assistants, is the most widely recognized; the Registered Medical Assistant credential, offered by American Medical Technologists, is another respected option. Employers view certification as proof that you have met a verified competency standard, and many job postings filter out applicants who lack one of these credentials.2

Why Accreditation Status Matters Before You Enroll

If you plan to sit for the CMA exam, you must graduate from a program with medical assistant program accreditation from either the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs or the Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools. A program with only institutional or regional accreditation will not make you eligible. Before signing any enrollment agreement, confirm the school's programmatic accreditation status directly with CAAHEP or ABHES. This single factor can determine whether your training leads to a nationally recognized credential or leaves you locked out of the exam.

Certificate vs. Degree: The Fastest Route

Yes, you can become a medical assistant without earning a degree. Certificate programs, which typically run nine to twelve months, are the most common pathway in San Jose. These programs focus on clinical and administrative skills without the general education requirements of an associate degree. If you want to start working sooner and keep tuition costs lower, a certificate in medical assisting is usually the practical choice. An associate degree takes longer but may open doors to supervisory roles or further education down the road.

From Certificate to Clinic: The MA Training Timeline

Medical assistant training in San Jose typically follows one of two paths. Here is how certificate and associate degree programs compare on key attributes.

Comparison of certificate and associate degree medical assistant programs in San Jose: typical duration, program focus, exam eligibility, and career advancement potential.

Questions to Ask Yourself

  1. Can I commit to daytime classes, or do I need evening or weekend scheduling?

    If you're working while training, confirm the San Jose program offers evening, weekend, or hybrid options before enrolling. Otherwise you may have to quit your job or delay your start date.

  2. Is CAAHEP or ABHES accreditation confirmed, and will it qualify me for the CMA exam?

    Accreditation status directly determines whether you can sit for the Certified Medical Assistant exam after graduation. Verify this with the school directly, not just marketing materials, since it affects your job prospects.

  3. How many externship hours are required, and are clinical sites near San Jose?

    A program with too few clinical hours or distant placement sites can leave you underprepared or commuting long distances. Ask exactly where students complete their hands-on training before you commit.

  4. Do I want the fastest path in, or the broader foundation of a degree?

    A certificate can get you working in about 10 months, while an associate degree takes longer but adds general education and may open doors to advancement later. Match the choice to your timeline and goals.

Accreditation Status of San Jose MA Programs: CAAHEP, ABHES, and Institutional

Why Accreditation Matters for Your Career

Accreditation is your quality checkmark. For medical assistants, it can determine whether you're eligible to sit for the CMA certification exam, how your credits transfer, and how employers perceive your training. There are two layers you need to understand: programmatic accreditation, focused on the medical assistant program itself, and institutional accreditation, covering the entire school. Verifying both upfront can save you time, money, and surprises later.

Step-by-Step: How to Verify a Program's Status

Because accreditation details change and not every directory is updated in real time, we recommend checking these sources yourself before enrolling. Here's where to look:

  • Programmatic accreditation directories: Search the CAAHEP.org directory for accredited medical assistant trade schools in California, filtering by city: for example, San Jose City College’s Medical Assisting program is listed. Also check the ABHES.org directory, as some schools carry ABHES accreditation instead. Both directories let you see the exact campus and the accreditation end date.
  • Institutional accreditation database: Go to ope.ed.gov/dapip, the U.S. Department of Education's database. Look for regional accreditors like WASC (often found at community colleges) or national accreditors like ACCSC (common among career colleges). Confirm the San Jose campus is included in the scope.
  • Cross-check with the BLS.gov page for Medical Assistants: Use the Bureau of Labor Statistics entry to understand the typical education path, then match it against the program's official website.

What to Look For on a School's Website

Once you have a program's name, visit its official site and find the "Accreditation" or "Program Outcomes" page. Keep an eye out for:

  • CAAHEP or ABHES logo with a current date. A school that says it is accredited but doesn't list the accreditor or expiration year should give you pause.
  • License-exam pass rates and job placement data. Programs that publicly report these numbers usually have nothing to hide and are often accredited.
  • Statement of institutional accreditation. Look for a line like "Accredited by the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges, Western Association of Schools and Colleges."

When in Doubt, Ask the Program Director

No webpage is a substitute for a direct conversation. Call or email the program director and request:

  • Proof of current programmatic accreditation (CAAHEP or ABHES). Ask for the accreditation letter and the review cycle dates.
  • Whether the program is in a "Letter of Review" status. CAAHEP considers a program accredited while a review is underway until the board makes a final decision, but confirm the specifics.
  • How institutional accreditation affects transfer credits if you're considering continuing your education later.

Remember, a school can be institutionally accredited while its medical assistant program is not separately accredited by CAAHEP or ABHES. That doesn't mean the program is poor, but it can affect your certification eligibility. Taking 15 minutes to verify now is a small investment in your future.

Evening, Weekend, and Hybrid Schedules in San Jose

Flexible class schedules are the single most-requested feature from working adults entering medical assisting, yet program websites often make it harder than necessary to find reliable schedule information. Only one San Jose-area program, the Clinical Medical Assistant program through CALRegional, explicitly states that classes “may be offered on day, evening, or weekend schedules depending on location.”1. That means evening and weekend options are possible at some of its sites, but availability is not guaranteed term to term.

Which San Jose Programs Offer Flexible Scheduling?

Based on current program pages, here is what prospective students can confirm without phoning each campus:

  • CALRegional (San Jose): Lists day, evening, and weekend scheduling as possible formats. This is the only program in the area with published evening and weekend availability.
  • San José City College: The medical assisting program page does not display specific meeting times. It directs students to the live class schedule and catalog, so prospective enrollees must check term-by-term to learn whether any sections are held outside daytime hours.
  • CET San Jose, Carrington College San Jose, Unitek College, Institute of Business and Technology (IBT), Goodwill Silicon Valley, and Silicon Valley Adult Education (SVAE): No current program-page results were available in the provided research set. Scheduling formats for these schools are not established, and interested applicants should contact admissions or attend an information session to inquire about evening, weekend, or hybrid configurations.

What to Expect from Hybrid and In-Person Components

Even when a program advertises itself as an online medical assistant program for working adults, the “online” label typically refers to the didactic lecture portion only. All accredited medical assisting programs require a substantial in-person commitment for hands-on skills labs and medical assistant externships. A program that allows students to complete lectures on a flexible schedule will still schedule on-campus lab sessions and mandatory externship rotations at local clinics or hospitals during business hours. Be sure to clarify exactly how many on-site hours per week are required, and whether those hours fall during the day, before assuming a hybrid program will accommodate a full-time job.

Before applying, reach out to each school’s admissions or program coordinator directly and ask: “What are this year’s scheduled class and lab times? Are evening or weekend sections actually running, or are they just listed as a possibility?” That direct question can save you from enrolling in a program that conflicts with work or family obligations.

Externship and Clinical Hour Requirements by Program

Externships are the hands-on part of your training where real clinical skills are built and where many students form hiring connections. In San Jose’s dense healthcare network, most externship sites are within easy commuting distance. The standard for accredited programs is 160 hours, though some schools exceed that, giving you additional practical experience.

SchoolExternship HoursPlacement Arranged by School?Clinical Site Types
San José City College (SJCC)160 hoursNot specifiedBoard-certified medical office setting or outpatient facility
CALRegional San Jose160 hoursYesNot specified
Goodwill of Silicon Valley160 hoursYesDesignated medical facility
Silicon Valley Adult Education (SVAE)1 monthNot specifiedNot specified
SJVC180 hoursYesNot specified
JobTrain160 hoursNot specifiedNot specified

What You'll Need to Enroll: Admission Prerequisites Compared

Admission requirements vary widely among San Jose-area medical assistant programs. While some details are published online, many schools only disclose full prerequisites upon inquiry. Here’s how to navigate what you’ll need before applying.

  1. Start with each school’s official admissions page
    For the most accurate and up-to-date prerequisites, such as minimum age, diploma or GED requirements, entrance exams, and supplemental applications, visit the specific program page for schools like SJCC, CET, Carrington, CALRegional, Unitek, IBT, Goodwill, and SVAE. Many details are not listed publicly, so this is your essential first step.
  2. Contact admissions offices for hidden requirements
    Background checks, drug screenings, immunization records, and CPR/BLS certification are common but often not mentioned online. Call or email each school to confirm these and any other clinical clearance requirements before you apply.
  3. Check accreditation and certification prerequisites
    Cross-reference program details with the American Association of Medical Assistants (AAMA) to verify accreditation status and understand certification eligibility. The Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook also offers a broad overview of typical education paths for medical assistants.
  4. Note known prerequisites for San Jose City College
    SJCC’s Medical Assisting program requires completion of HSCI 008 and MA 006 with a grade of C or better before entering the clinical sequence. No supplemental application is needed, and other common prerequisites like age or entrance exams are not specified on the program page.

Program Costs, Net Price, and Financial Aid in San Jose

At San Jose City College, in-state tuition for the Medical Assisting Clinical certificate sits at $1,366, while Carrington College’s effective net price after aid averages $36,466. Medical assistant training in San Jose spans a wide financial range, reflecting the variety of medical assistant program costs in California, and understanding the difference between sticker price and what students actually pay is critical before you enroll.

Public vs. Private: A $10,000+ Gap

Public community colleges in the San Jose metro offer the most affordable path. West Valley College reports in-state tuition of $1,490 and an average net price after grants of just $3,423. De Anza College comes in at $1,571 in tuition with a net effective cost of $6,642, while Evergreen Valley College ($1,366 tuition, $12,414 net) and San Jose City College ($1,366 tuition, $16,959 net) vary due to total cost of attendance and individual aid packages.

Private and for-profit schools, by contrast, carry a noticeably higher price tag: - Unitek College: $25,179 net price - Institute for Business and Technology: $27,207 net price - Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts: $32,427 net price - Carrington College-San Jose: $36,466 net price

The gap between the lowest public net cost and the highest private one exceeds $33,000. For most students, choosing a public campus makes a five-figure difference.

Financial Aid Options to Lower Your Out-of-Pocket Cost

  • Federal Pell Grants: At San Jose-area community colleges, the vast majority of students receive Pell Grants, over 98% at West Valley, Evergreen Valley, and San Jose City College, and nearly 95% at De Anza. Private schools also see high Pell utilization (70%, 84%), but grants do not fully close the cost gap.
  • California College Promise Grant: Formerly the BOG fee waiver, this program covers enrollment fees for eligible community college students, making the direct tuition cost nearly zero for many.
  • WIOA Funding (work2future): San Jose’s local workforce development board, work2future, can sponsor eligible career seekers for training at approved providers, potentially covering tuition and materials.
  • Institutional Payment Plans: Many private schools offer monthly payment options to spread the cost, though interest or administrative fees may apply.

How Much Does Medical Assistant School Cost in San Jose?

A straightforward answer: you can expect to pay anywhere from about $1,400 in tuition at a public community college to over $36,000 after aid at a private career college. The typical student at a San Jose public program pays between $3,400 and $17,000 after factoring in total costs and grant aid, while private school students generally carry net prices in the $25,000, $36,000 range.

Keep in mind that the net price we reference is an institution-wide average. Your actual cost will depend on program length, residency status, and the amount of state and federal aid you qualify for. When comparing schools, consider how they stack up among the best medical assistant schools, but always ask for a personalized net price estimate based on your own financial situation, not just the headline tuition number.

San Jose MA Graduate Earnings at a Glance

While program-specific earnings for recent medical assistant graduates in San Jose aren't yet published through College Scorecard, the BLS offers a solid benchmark. The median annual wage for medical assistants across the San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara metro area is $61,490. Remember, that figure covers all experience levels, so entry-level pay may be lower. Also, College Scorecard earnings include completers who are still in school, which can pull reported averages below full-time occupational wages.

Median annual wage of $61,490 for medical assistants in the San Jose metro area, 2023

Top Medical Assistant Programs for San Jose Students

Below are the top medical assistant programs serving San Jose students, ranked by IPEDS completion data, accreditation status, and program fit. Each profile includes key details like tuition, net price, and program structure to help you compare options.

How this list was built
Factors considered
  • Institutional graduation rates
  • Program accreditation status
  • Clinical externship quality
  • Net price after financial aid
  • Student-to-faculty ratios
Sources

Unitek College

#1

Fremont, CA · $25,000/yr (net price)

Best for: Career changers wanting an accelerated hybrid path

Unitek College offers a fast-paced Medical Assisting program from its San Jose campus on Santa Teresa Boulevard. The hybrid format blends online coursework with in-person labs and a clinical externship, allowing students to graduate in as few as 9 months. Training covers both administrative and clinical skills, preparing graduates for immediate entry into physician offices, hospitals, and urgent care centers.

  • 9-month program
  • Hybrid online and in-person classes
  • Clinical externship included
  • Covers administrative and clinical skills
  • Career-ready focus

Carrington College-San Jose

#2

San Jose, CA · $36,000/yr

Best for: Students stacking credentials toward an associate

Carrington College-San Jose provides a comprehensive Medical Assisting program with both certificate and associate degree pathways. The campus-based certificate takes 36 weeks and includes 750 contact hours plus a 180-hour externship. Graduates are eligible for the CCMA exam, and California residents can complete the associate degree online in an additional 30 weeks. The program emphasizes hands-on diagnostic testing and career development.

  • 36-week certificate program
  • Associate degree option available online
  • 750 total contact hours
  • 180-hour externship
  • Prepares for CCMA certification exam
  • Campus-based in San Jose

San Jose City College

#3

San Jose, CA · ~$17,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Cost-conscious learners at a public institution

San Jose City College offers a Clinical Medical Assisting Certificate of Achievement through its Business and Workforce Development Division. The 31-32 unit program covers physical exam procedures, medication administration, EKGs, phlebotomy, and lab specimen handling. A clinical externship provides real-world experience, and the curriculum prepares students to pursue CMA or RMA certification. As a public community college, it provides an affordable path into the healthcare workforce.

  • 31-32 unit clinical certificate
  • Prepares for CMA or RMA certification
  • Externship in clinical setting
  • C or better required in major courses
  • Offered through Business and Workforce Development Division

Institute for Business and Technology

#4

San Jose, CA · $27,000/yr

The Institute for Business and Technology (IBT) in San Jose prepares students for both clinical and administrative medical assisting roles. The program can be completed in as few as 9 months and emphasizes hands-on training through real-life scenarios. Graduates are eligible to sit for the NCCT national certification exam and can pursue careers in clinics, hospitals, and private labs. The school focuses on building confidence and practical skills for immediate employment.

  • Can be completed in as few as 9 months
  • Prepares for NCCT national certification
  • Clinical and administrative skills training
  • Hands-on real-life scenarios
  • Career options in clinics, hospitals, labs

De Anza College

#5

Cupertino, CA · $2,000 – $13,000/yr

De Anza College in Cupertino offers an Associate in Science degree in Medical Assisting, a 18-month full-time program that also accommodates part-time students. The curriculum balances clinical skills such as vital signs, EKGs, lab procedures, and medication administration with administrative training in billing, coding, scheduling, and records management. Graduates are prepared for roles in physician offices, outpatient departments, and clinics across the South Bay.

  • Associate in Science degree
  • 18 months full-time
  • Clinical skills: vitals, EKGs, lab procedures
  • Administrative skills: billing, records, insurance
  • Full-time and part-time options
  • Campus in Cupertino, near San Jose

West Valley College

#6

Saratoga, CA · ~$3,000/yr (est.)

West Valley College in Saratoga awards an Associate in Science in Medical Assisting that covers front and back office competencies. The 42-unit major includes medical terminology, insurance billing, and electronic medical records, along with hands-on clinical procedures. An internship placement and preparation for ECG technician roles are integrated into the program. Graduates often pursue positions as medical office managers, administrative assistants, or billing specialists.

  • Associate in Science degree
  • 42-unit major core
  • Internship placement included
  • Covers front and back office skills
  • Prepares for ECG technician and billing roles
  • Campus in Saratoga

Evergreen Valley College

#7

San Jose, CA · ~$12,000/yr (est.)

Evergreen Valley College in San Jose provides a targeted Medical Assistant - Front Office Certificate. This 22-unit program concentrates on medical terminology, coding, billing, and communications, with an internship that builds hands-on experience. It is designed for students seeking a fast entry into healthcare administration roles such as medical biller, patient specialist, or office assistant, without the general education requirements of an associate degree.

  • 22-unit certificate
  • Focus on front office: coding, billing, terminology
  • Internship for practical experience
  • Careers: medical biller, patient specialist
  • Campus in San Jose

Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts

#8

San Jose, CA · $30,000 – $35,000/yr

Gurnick Academy of Medical Arts offers an ABHES-accredited Medical Assistant Certificate program. The 8-month hybrid curriculum covers anatomy, electronic health records, and clinical skills like EKGs and specimen collection. Graduates are eligible for the CCMA and CET exams, with testing available on campus. The school provides financial aid, VA benefits, and job placement assistance, making it a strong choice for those seeking comprehensive support.

  • ABHES accredited
  • 8-month program
  • Prepares for CCMA and CET exams
  • On-campus testing available
  • Financial aid and military benefits
  • Job placement assistance

Frequently Asked Questions About Medical Assistant Schools in San Jose

Considering a career as a medical assistant in San Jose? Below are answers to common questions about program length, costs, salaries, and requirements, drawn from local school offerings and regional data.

How long does it take to become a medical assistant in San Jose?

Training length varies by program and format. Accelerated options like CALRegional's clinical medical assistant program can be completed in 8-10 weeks1, while comprehensive programs at Bay Area Medical Academy2 or Unitek3 take 9-12 months. Certificate programs at adult education centers may run up to 13 months, including externship hours4. Most students finish within 5-12 months depending on full-time or part-time schedules.

Can you become a medical assistant in San Jose without a degree?

Absolutely. A college degree is not required to become a medical assistant in San Jose. Most programs, including those at Goodwill5, CET6, and JVS7, only ask for a high school diploma or GED. Many explicitly welcome beginners with no prior medical experience, making the field accessible through short-term certificate training rather than an associate or bachelor's degree.

What is the average salary for a medical assistant in San Jose?

Specific salary figures for San Jose medical assistants are not yet published in our current sources. However, wages in the San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara metro area typically surpass state and national medians due to the high cost of living. For the most up-to-date earnings data, check the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics or review local job listings from healthcare employers.

Are there accredited medical assistant programs in San Jose that qualify you for the CMA exam?

Yes, several San Jose programs prepare students for national certifications, including the CMA (AAMA) exam. Schools like Bay Area Medical Academy and Unitek offer curriculum aligned with certification exams. However, programmatic accreditation by CAAHEP or ABHES, often required for CMA eligibility, varies. Always confirm a program's current accreditation status directly with the school and the certifying agency before enrolling.

What are the requirements to enroll in a medical assistant program in San Jose?

Typical requirements include being at least 18 years old, holding a high school diploma or GED, and passing basic reading or math assessments. Many schools also require up-to-date immunizations, a health screening, and a background check. Some programs, like those at Goodwill5 or JobTrain8, may ask for proof of Bay Area residency, U.S. work authorization, and daytime availability for classes and externships.

Recent Articles