Skip to content

Medical Assistant Programs in and Near Oroville, California

Compare accredited programs, costs, and training options within commuting distance of Oroville.

By Jennifer GubblerReviewed by Editorial StaffUpdated August 19, 202618 min read

Most important takeaways…

  • Medical assistants in Butte County serve several healthcare systems with steady demand.
  • Public community college options near Oroville usually cost less than private programs.
  • For the 2025-2026 cycle, CMA (AAMA) requires CAAHEP or ABHES accreditation.

Oroville sits about 25 miles south of Chico and 70 miles north of Sacramento, which shapes the training question in a specific way: in-city medical assistant schools are limited, but accredited programs in Chico, Yuba City, and Redding are all within a reasonable commute. That geography, more than tuition or curriculum, tends to drive enrollment decisions here.

Most Butte County residents weigh the medical assistant pros and cons when choosing between a lower-cost community college certificate and a faster private career college program, with drive time and clinical externship placement often deciding the match. Wage data from the North Valley shows medical assistants earning in a tight band, so program cost and time-to-credential matter more than prestige.

Jump straight to the program list →

Butte County Healthcare Landscape and Why Medical Assistants Are in Demand

Butte County sits at the crossroads of several healthcare systems that together create steady employment for clinical support staff, including certified and registered medical assistants. If you live in or near Oroville and want to work in healthcare without committing to a multi-year degree, a medical assistant career offers a realistic entry point with employers actively hiring across the region.

Major Healthcare Employers in the Area

The largest healthcare providers in Butte County all maintain current medical assistant openings.1

  • Oroville Hospital: The city's anchor facility and a consistent employer for clinical staff.2
  • Enloe Medical Center: Located in Chico, this regional medical center runs specialty clinics including orthopedic and trauma services that rely on MAs
  • Adventist Health Feather River: Based in Paradise, this system has rebuilt outpatient services following the Camp Fire and continues expanding
  • Ampla Health: A community health center with locations in Oroville serving underserved populations
  • Orchard Hospital, DaVita, and Community Health Centers of America: Additional employers in Gridley and Chico rounding out the regional job market

Butte County government also posts healthcare support roles, including Health Services Assistant positions that share overlap with MA duties.3

Post-Camp Fire Recovery and Workforce Demand

The 2018 Camp Fire devastated Paradise and surrounding communities, displacing residents and destroying healthcare infrastructure. Since then, facilities like Adventist Health Feather River have rebuilt outpatient clinics, creating new positions as services return. This reconstruction, combined with chronic healthcare worker shortages across rural Northern California, means qualified medical assistants face less competition for positions than they might in urban areas.

What Medical Assistants Do in California

Under California law, medical assistants work under direct physician supervision and can perform a range of clinical medical assistant duties after proper training. These include administering injections, performing EKGs and blood draws, and assisting with minor procedures. The scope of practice makes MAs versatile employees in busy outpatient settings where physicians need capable hands-on support.

Where Graduates Find Work

Beyond Oroville itself, most graduates find positions within a reasonable commute. Chico offers the largest concentration of healthcare employers, while Paradise continues adding positions as the community rebuilds. Gridley, Yuba City to the south, and Redding to the north all have facilities that hire Butte County program graduates. This geographic spread gives you flexibility in where you land your first job.

In-City and Nearby Medical Assistant Training Options Within 60 Miles of Oroville

Most students in rural Northern California face a basic question before anything else: how far am I willing to drive for training? Oroville sits in a region where medical assistant programs in California cluster around a few key hubs, and knowing your commute upfront can save weeks of frustration.

Oroville Adult Education Center: The Only In-City Option

The Oroville Adult Education Center offers the sole medical assistant program within city limits.1 Their Clinical Medical Assistant program runs 4 to 6 months and includes approximately 140 course hours, with an optional 160-hour externship available through local healthcare providers.2 The program is delivered online, which gives working students flexibility, though the externship component requires in-person clinical time.2

Tuition runs around $2,800 with books included, though some marketing materials list a slightly lower figure, so confirm current pricing directly with the school.3 You will need a high school diploma or GED to enroll.4 Graduates become eligible to sit for the NHA Certified Clinical Medical Assistant (CCMA) exam and the NWCA Certified Medical Administrative Coordinator (CMAC) exam, both nationally recognized credentials.3

One note: the program markets itself as entry-level clinical training, but no formal programmatic accreditation claim appears in current materials.3 This matters if you plan to transfer credits or if certain employers require CAAHEP or ABHES accreditation specifically.

Butte College ROP Medical Assistant Program

Butte College, which has an Oroville campus, runs an ROP medical assistant training program through its Career Technical Education division.5 This program is substantially more intensive than the adult education option: 38 weeks and 1,080 clock hours, preparing students for entry-level administrative and clinical medical assistant roles.5

The program appears to be offered through the regional occupational pathway rather than as a traditional college certificate, so verify with enrollment services whether you earn transferable college credits or a standalone CTE credential. Drive time from downtown Oroville to the main Butte College campus in Oroville is minimal, typically under 10 minutes.

Yuba College and Shasta College: Limited Options

Yuba College in Marysville sits roughly 30 miles south of Oroville, about a 40-minute drive. However, as of the 2025-2026 academic year, Yuba College does not appear to offer a dedicated medical assistant certificate or associate program. The college has related allied health courses, but prospective MA students should confirm directly whether any new programs have launched.

Shasta College in Redding is approximately 75 miles north, roughly an hour and 15 minutes by car. Similar to Yuba, no medical assistant certificate or degree program could be verified in current catalogs. Students looking in that direction may find related healthcare training but should not count on a standalone MA pathway.

Private School Option: Institute of Technology in Redding

For students open to a longer commute and a private-school tuition structure, the Institute of Technology (IOT) operates a campus in Redding. The drive from Oroville runs about 75 miles, typically under 90 minutes depending on traffic. IOT offers medical assistant training with built-in externship hours, though tuition at private career schools typically exceeds community college or adult education rates by a significant margin. Contact IOT directly for current pricing and program length, as these can change between catalog years.

Quick Commute Reference

  • Oroville Adult Education Center: In-city, no commute required for coursework (externship sites vary)
  • Butte College Oroville Campus: Under 10 minutes from downtown Oroville
  • Yuba College (Marysville): Approximately 40 minutes south, but no verified MA program currently
  • Shasta College (Redding): Approximately 75-90 minutes north, no verified MA program currently
  • Institute of Technology (Redding): Approximately 75-90 minutes north, private tuition rates

Program Costs and Financial Aid: What Medical Assistant Training Costs Near Oroville

Costs vary widely depending on whether you choose a public community college or a private career college. Federal net price data shows a much lower published tuition and average net price for the public community college option, but that does not account for waitlist timing or program-specific aid. Oroville Adult Education Center has not published a current total cost in the sources reviewed, so confirm that figure directly with the school before comparing. Pell Grants, WIOA funding through Butte County, and the California community college fee waiver can reduce out-of-pocket costs, but eligibility varies by program and individual circumstances.

ProgramProvider TypePublished Tuition / Total CostAverage Net PriceLength / Notes
Medical Assisting Certificate, Sierra College (Rocklin)Public community college$1,446 in-state tuition$7,245Two semesters plus 160-hour externship
Medical Assisting Certificate, MTI College (Sacramento)Private college$16,680 total program tuition$21,74033 weeks; financial aid available
Professional Medical Assistant, Institute of Technology (Redding)Private career college$16,712 tuition; total program cost about $18,483 to $18,613 depending on fee sheetNot reported40 weeks; 860 hours; ACCSC accredited

How Long Medical Assistant Training Takes in Oroville

Oroville-area students can choose from three common medical assistant pathways, each with a different time commitment, externship requirement, and scheduling pattern.

Comparison of three medical assistant training pathways in Oroville: adult education certificate 6-10 months, community college certificate 9-12 months, associate degree 2 years, with externship hours and schedule flexibility

Accreditation and Certification: Which Exams Can You Sit For?

The CMA (AAMA) is the only widely used medical assistant credential that, for the 2025-2026 cycle, requires graduation from a program accredited by CAAHEP or ABHES; regional accreditation alone does not satisfy that exam's education requirement.1

Why Programmatic Accreditation Changes Your Exam Options

Two types of accreditation matter. Regional accreditation covers the whole college or school. Programmatic accreditation, specifically from the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) or the Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools (ABHES), reviews the medical assistant program itself. For the CMA exam, this programmatic review is the gatekeeper.

Mapping Oroville-Area Training to National Exams

  • CMA (AAMA): Graduates of CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited programs may apply. Recent graduates have a 12-month application window,2 and students can test no earlier than 30 days before finishing all coursework,2 including the practicum, with program director verification.3 Other candidates may have separate eligibility routes, so confirm current requirements directly with the AAMA.
  • RMA (AMT), CCMA (NHA), and CCBMA: These exams tend to offer broader eligibility pathways, but their current routes are not identical. A program that is regionally accredited but not CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited may be accepted under some pathways, but you should confirm the exact route with AMT or NHA before assuming your program qualifies.

California Does Not License MAs, But Certification Still Matters

California does not require a state license to work as a medical assistant. However, Oroville-area employers increasingly prefer or require a national credential, especially in hospitals, larger clinics, and specialty practices; the benefits of medical assistant certification are part of that shift. If you complete an unaccredited program, including a shorter adult education option that lacks CAAHEP or ABHES accreditation, you may still be able to work as a medical assistant without certification in some settings. You will likely be limited to credentials with broader eligibility or no credential at all, so this distinction matters for anyone considering an Oroville adult education program.

The CMA (AAMA) credential requires recertification through continuing education units or re-examination. Other credentials have their own maintenance requirements. Before enrolling, ask the program director which exam its graduates actually sit for and confirm that pathway with the certifying body.

Medical Assistant Salary and Job Outlook in the Oroville Area

Medical assistant training in the Oroville area is a strong financial bet, with graduates typically earning back their program cost within the first year or two of full-time work.

What Local Wages Look Like

BLS wage data for the Chico-Redding metro, which includes Butte County, puts medical assistant salaries in the low-to-mid $40,000s. That is below California's statewide median, which runs several thousand dollars higher, but still above the national median for medical assistants. Detailed one-year and two-year program-level earnings are not yet available for nearby schools. The most recent federal data that is available, a longer-term median, shows MTI College and Sierra College medical assisting graduates earning around $45,000. Both schools sit within commuting distance of Oroville, and that figure reflects the local premium for trained allied health staff, even in a rural-leaning market.

Entry-Level vs. Experienced Pay in Oroville

New entry-level medical assistant hires in the Oroville area should plan for a first-year base in the $35,000 to $40,000 range, often with additional shift differentials, overtime, or per diem assignments that push total take-home higher. With three to five years of experience, especially after earning a national credential such as CCMA or CMA(AAMA), wages commonly move into the mid-$40,000s to low $50,000s. Specialty certifications in areas like phlebotomy, EKG, or clinical back-office workflows can add another dollar or two per hour in many Butte County clinics. For readers weighing whether to train locally or relocate, the wage gap between Oroville-area clinics and larger California metros is real, but lower housing and commuting costs in Butte County often offset the difference.

Demand and ROI

The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics projects national employment for medical assistants to grow about 15% over the current decade, much faster than average, supporting a strong medical assistant job outlook. Rural and semi-rural areas like Butte County feel this shortage more acutely because fewer training slots exist and primary care networks must compete with larger metros such as Chico and Sacramento. For Oroville students, the math is simple: a certificate program costing roughly $5,000 to $15,000, paired with starting wages in the $35,000 to $40,000 range, means most graduates recover their tuition investment within the first 12 to 24 months of full-time work. That is a strong return compared to many other allied health pathways.

Accredited Medical Assistant Programs Serving Oroville Students

These are the top medical assistant programs serving Oroville students, ranked by federal completion and earnings data, accreditation status, and program fit for working learners. The list below helps Oroville-area students compare hybrid and campus-based options within commuting distance or with flexible scheduling.

How this list was built
Factors considered
  • Accreditation and program fit
  • Delivery format and schedule
  • Commute distance from Oroville
  • Federal completion and earnings data
  • Net price and aid access
Sources

MTI College

#1

Sacramento, CA · $22,000/yr

Best for: Working adults needing hybrid and evening options

MTI College, located in Sacramento, offers a hybrid Medical Assisting Certificate Program that can be completed in as little as 33 weeks, with day and night scheduling options. The institution reports a 77% graduation rate for first-time, full-time students, and the average net price is about $21,740. Median earnings for former students who received federal financial aid are around $45,328, and the program includes a 160-hour externship and preparation for the Nationally Certified Medical Assistant (NCMA) exam. Sacramento is roughly a 70-mile drive from Oroville, so the hybrid format can reduce travel demands.

  • $16,680 total program tuition
  • 33 weeks day, 37-48 weeks night
  • 44 credit hours and 9 total courses
  • 160 clinical hours plus externship
  • Prepares for Nationally Certified Medical Assistant (NCMA)
  • Hybrid online and on-campus format
  • Includes administrative and clinical training
  • Career services support and financial aid availability

Sierra College

#2

Rocklin, CA · $7,000/yr (net price)

Best for: In-person learners wanting affordable community college

Sierra College in Rocklin offers a campus-based Medical Assisting Certificate that fills core coursework over two semesters, followed by a 160-hour externship in a medical setting. The college reports a 42% graduation rate for first-time, full-time students, with an average net price of about $7,245, making it an affordable public option. Median earnings for former students who received federal financial aid are around $45,294. Rocklin is about 65 miles south of Oroville, so campus attendance requires a commute, but the hands-on labs cover EKGs, venipuncture, injections, and minor office surgery assistance.

  • Core coursework completed in two semesters
  • 160-hour externship in a medical setting
  • Training in vital signs, EKGs, venipunctures, injections
  • Prepares for clinics, urgent care, physician offices
  • Includes basic anatomy, physiology, and pharmacology
  • Covers medical office administrative tasks
  • Assists with minor office surgeries

How to Choose the Right Medical Assistant Program From Oroville

How do you pick a medical assistant program near Oroville when several schools look similar on paper? Start by eliminating any program that does not lead to a recognized certification exam such as the CMA (AAMA) or RMA. Accreditation is the first filter because it determines whether you can sit for those exams at all. If a school is not accredited by an agency recognized for medical assisting, the certificate may not matter much when employers ask for credentials.

Start With Accreditation, Then Compare Costs

After accreditation, compare total program cost, not just listed tuition. Ask each school for a full breakdown that includes books, uniforms, background checks, drug screens, immunizations, CPR certification, and the certification exam fee. A program with a lower sticker price can cost more once those required extras are added. Then look at schedule fit. If you work during the day in Oroville or commute from Gridley, Live Oak, or Thermalito, an evening or hybrid option may beat a cheaper daytime-only program.

Verify Externship Placement Support

A quality program should place you in a local medical assistant externship rather than leaving you to find one on your own. Ask specifically how many Oroville, Chico, or Yuba City area clinics currently accept students from the program and how soon after finishing coursework you can start. Externships often turn into job interviews, so this support can save real job-hunting time.

Visit Lab-Heavy Programs in Chico or Redding

If a program includes significant hands-on lab work, schedule a visit before committing. The drive from Oroville to Chico is usually manageable, and Redding may be worth the trip for certain schedules or specialties. Tour the lab space and ask current students how often they practice medical assistant clinical skills like injections, EKGs, and blood draws on campus.

Check Workforce Funding and Compare Final Numbers

Contact the Butte County Workforce Development Board or a local America's Job Center of California to ask about WIOA training vouchers or other medical assistant scholarships and grants. Some approved medical assistant programs may be covered in part or in full, but eligibility depends on your income and employment status. Ask the school's financial aid office directly whether they accept WIOA funding.

Before you decide, request program details from two or three schools and line up the total costs, start dates, externship support, and certification eligibility side by side. The right choice is the accredited program you can actually finish while working and commuting, not just the closest one.

Frequently Asked Questions About Medical Assistant Training in Oroville

Choosing a medical assistant program in Oroville means sorting through different schedules, costs, and certifying exams. These answers cover the most common questions prospective students ask before enrolling.

How long does it take to become a medical assistant in Oroville, CA?

Medical assistant program length varies by program format and total hours. Oroville Adult Education Center offers a 140-hour clinical medical assistant course1, while Butte County CTE lists a 38-week, 1,080-clock-hour option2. Nearby accelerated formats such as CALRegional can run 8 to 10 weeks3, and other California programs can take up to 15 months4.

What is the cheapest medical assistant program near Oroville?

Public and adult education programs tend to be the most price-conscious places to start, but complete tuition figures are not consistently published for local options. Oroville Adult Education Center is often the most cost-leaning local program, though its tuition is not listed publicly1. Compare total costs, fees, books, and certification exam charges before deciding.

Are there accredited medical assistant schools in Oroville itself?

No clearly accredited postsecondary medical assistant school was identified physically within Oroville in the sources reviewed. Oroville Adult Education Center offers local training, but its listing does not state programmatic accreditation1. If accreditation is important for your goals, verify each program's status directly before enrolling.

Do any medical assistant programs near Oroville offer evening or weekend classes?

Some regional programs do. Nearby formats may include weekend or evening schedules, but Oroville Adult Education Center does not specify meeting times in its public listing1. Contact the school directly if you need evening medical assistant classes around work or family obligations.

What certifications can I earn from a California medical assistant program?

Program outcomes vary. Oroville Adult Education Center prepares students for the NHA Certified Clinical Medical Assistant (CCMA) exam1. Other California programs may lead to NCCT eligibility5 or registered medical assistant certification through CET6, or eligibility for other medical assisting exams. Confirm which credential is included before enrolling.

Recent Articles