Most important takeaways…
- Georgia's medical assistant job growth is projected at 23 percent through 2030.
- Several accredited programs cost under $5,000 after financial aid.
- No state license is required, but national certification boosts hiring odds.
Compare the best accredited medical assistant programs in Georgia. Get the details on costs, certification, online options, and career outcomes to make the smart choice.
Georgia's projected 23 percent job growth for medical assistants through 2030 runs nearly double the national pace, yet newcomers quickly discover that a strong hiring market doesn't guarantee an easy entry. In a state with no licensure requirement, the credential employers actually want is national certification, and not every program in Georgia delivers the clinical hours, externships, and exam readiness it promises.
Salary potential is real: median earnings for graduates of top-ranked Georgia programs regularly reach into the mid-to-upper $30,000s within a few years, with experienced assistants earning more. The difference between those wages and a string of rejections often traces back to whether your school's accreditation sits on a hiring manager's shortlist. That is the filter separating training that opens doors from a certificate that gets overlooked.
These 10 Georgia programs stand out for a mix of training quality, affordability, and student outcomes. We look at retention, earnings after finishing, graduation rates, and net price rather than relying on name recognition alone. Use the list to compare options that fit your schedule, budget, and career goals.
Atlanta, GA · $23,000/yr
Best for: Career changers needing online flexibility
This university's online Clinical Medical Assistant certificate is offered through its continuing education division rather than a traditional undergraduate degree program. The self-paced, fully online format suits career changers and working adults. It focuses on clinical skills such as medication administration, phlebotomy, EKGs, and patient education, and prepares students for the NHA CCMA exam.
Augusta, GA · ~$25,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Central Georgia residents seeking hands-on training
This nonprofit college is tied to Goodwill Industries and emphasizes regional workforce placement. The 12-month, campus-based Multi-Skilled Medical Assistant program combines clinical and administrative training and reports a 93% job placement rate. Day and evening class options and dedicated scholarship support make it a practical choice for local students.
Roswell, GA · ~$34,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Metro Atlanta working adults needing evening classes
This private career college offers a campus-based Medical Assisting program with diploma and associate degree tracks. The program prepares students for NCCT certification and covers phlebotomy, insurance billing, and electronic health records. Day and evening schedules range from 12 to 24 months depending on the track.
Rome, GA · $5,000 – $10,000/yr
This technical college is part of the Technical College System of Georgia, giving residents access to HOPE Grant and scholarship support. The Medical Assisting program offers both associate degree and diploma pathways with classroom, lab, and clinical experience. A recent CAAHEP accreditation site visit passed with no recommendations, a strong signal for program quality.
Waycross, GA · under $5,000/yr
This technical college offers a CAAHEP-accredited Medical Assisting certificate that blends administrative and clinical skills. Students complete an externship in a regional medical office and receive dedicated certification exam preparation. The curriculum covers medical law and ethics, pharmacology, human disease, and office procedures.
Warner Robins, GA · $7,000/yr
This technical college offers multiple medical assisting pathways, including an associate degree, a general certificate, and a medical assisting receptionist technical certificate. The associate program includes an externship and folds NCCT review and certification testing into program costs. Dual enrollment options let Georgia high school students begin training early.
Statesboro, GA · $7,000/yr
This technical college's Medical Office Support Specialist certificate is CAAHEP-accredited and focuses on the administrative side of medical assisting. The program reports an 80% job placement rate and covers scheduling, insurance billing, and practice accounting. Graduates can transition into the Medical Assisting diploma for clinical training.
Lilburn, GA · ~$30,000/yr (est.)
This private career college offers a campus-based Medical Assisting program with diploma and associate degree tracks. It prepares students for both Certified Medical Assistant and Certified Phlebotomy Technician exams, and day or evening schedules run 12 to 24 months. The curriculum includes phlebotomy, insurance billing, and electronic health records.
Marietta, GA · ~$31,000/yr (est.)
This career college offers two medical assistant pathways: a 79-week associate degree and a 37-week certificate. Both include a 160-hour clinical internship and prepare graduates for the Registered Medical Assistant exam. Blended on-campus and online coursework with day, afternoon, and evening schedules provides flexibility.
Gainesville, GA · $4,000 – $7,000/yr
This technical college is part of the Technical College System of Georgia and offers a Medical Assisting diploma that prepares students for both CMA and RMA exams. The program is eligible for Pell and HOPE grants, with published estimated costs helping students plan. Multiple campuses serve North Georgia with in-person training.
Georgia employs roughly 26,800 medical assistants1, and that number is climbing fast. The state's projected job growth rate for the occupation sits at about 23 percent through 20301, nearly double the national projection of 12.5 percent2. That kind of demand means graduates of accredited programs can step into the workforce with real leverage when it comes to job selection, location, and starting pay, but it's also important to consider the Pros and Cons of Being a Medical Assistant before diving in.
The median annual wage for medical assistants in Georgia is approximately $39,0001 based on 2024 BLS data, which translates to about $19 per hour. That trails the national median of $44,2002, but Georgia's lower cost of living narrows the gap considerably, especially outside metro Atlanta.
Here is how pay breaks down across experience levels:
The jump from entry-level to experienced wages represents more than a 57 percent increase, which illustrates how certification, specialization, and tenure can move the needle over a relatively short career arc.
Metro Atlanta dominates the employment landscape, driven by large hospital systems, multi-specialty practices, and urgent care networks that continue to expand across Gwinnett, Cobb, and Fulton counties. Augusta, Savannah, and Columbus also support healthy demand, largely tied to regional medical centers and Veterans Affairs facilities.
The top-employing industries for medical assistants in Georgia mirror national trends:
Primary care offices remain the single largest employer, but outpatient care centers are growing the fastest as healthcare delivery shifts away from traditional hospital settings.
With roughly 4,320 new medical assistant positions expected to open in Georgia through 20301, competition for workers is real. Employers increasingly favor candidates who complete Medical Assistant Training Programs that are CAAHEP or ABHES accredited, and those graduates tend to start at higher wages than their non-credentialed peers. Given that many accredited programs in Georgia can be completed in under a year and cost well under $20,000, the return on that investment can materialize within the first year of full-time employment. Choosing a strong program is not just about the diploma; it is about positioning yourself on the higher end of that pay scale from day one.
Understanding what you can expect to earn helps you weigh program costs against long-term returns.
Georgia does not currently require a state license to work as a medical assistant, but most employers strongly prefer nationally certified candidates. Following these steps will help you build a competitive profile and start your career with confidence.

Medical assistants juggle vitals, prepping patients, and physician handoffs often back to back. If constant motion and shifting priorities energize rather than drain you, this pace will feel manageable rather than stressful.
The role blends bedside contact like drawing blood with desk work like scheduling and charting. If you'd rather specialize in one over the other, weigh whether this dual focus suits your strengths.
Most Georgia programs take under a year, letting you enter the workforce quickly with demand holding steady across clinics and hospitals statewide.
That figure reflects typical statewide earnings for this entry-level role. If you need higher pay sooner, consider whether certification or specialization could help you climb faster.
When every dollar counts, knowing exactly what you'll pay, and what's included, can make or break your decision. Below are the three most affordable accredited medical assistant programs we identified in Georgia, compared across the factors that matter most. Spoiler: a lower price tag doesn't have to mean a weaker education.
| Factor | Georgia Training Center – Clinical Medical Assistant | Heritage Health Career Center – Medical Assistant Program | Georgia School of Phlebotomy – Clinical Medical Assisting |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total Program Cost | $1,850 | $2,230 | $2,300 |
| Application / Registration Fee | $150 (included in total) | $50 (separate) | $100 (non-refundable after 3 days, included in total) |
| What's Included in Tuition | Textbook, TB skin test, liability insurance, BLS certification, drug screen, background check, and all medical supplies | Uniforms ($60), lab supplies ($225), drug screen, and CPR/First Aid certification | Registration, tuition, lab fee ($800), books and supplies ($250), and capstone fee ($150) |
| Credential Awarded | Clinical Medical Assistant Certificate | Medical Assistant Program Certificate | Clinical Medical Assisting (CMA) Certificate |
| Certification Exam Fee | Not included, budget roughly $115–$175 depending on the credentialing body | $165 (NHA exam, paid separately) | Not specified, plan on $115–$175 for a national exam |
| Optional or Extra Costs | Uniform cost not specified, confirm with the school | Background check (required; verify current fee) | Optional externship adds $300; uniform cost not listed |
| Background Check Required | Yes (included in tuition) | Yes | Not specified |
| Key Takeaway | Lowest sticker price in Georgia, and the tuition bundles most ancillary costs so there are fewer surprises at checkout. | Slightly higher total, but uniforms and CPR certification are baked in, helpful if you want a true all-in price. | A middle-ground option with a detailed fee breakdown; the optional externship gives you flexibility to add clinical hours if desired. |
CAAHEP-accredited medical assistant programs must maintain at least a 60 percent certification exam pass rate to keep their accreditation status. This threshold ensures graduates from accredited programs meet consistent competency standards. When researching programs in Georgia, checking each school's published pass rates alongside their accreditation status can help you identify which programs best prepare students for credentialing success.
CAAHEP or ABHES? Both are legitimate programmatic accreditors recognized nationally, but they take slightly different paths, and the one your school holds affects which certification exams you can sit for and how quickly employers say yes to your resume.
CAAHEP (Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs) is required if you want to take the Certified Medical Assistant (CMA) exam through the AAMA. Most of Georgia's technical college programs, including Gwinnett Technical College, Southern Crescent Technical College, Oconee Fall Line Technical College, Augusta Technical College, West Georgia Technical College, and South College Atlanta, hold CAAHEP accreditation. Georgia currently has 22 CAAHEP-accredited medical assisting programs, which is one of the deeper benches in the Southeast.1 South College Atlanta's certificate program in medical assisting recently earned initial accreditation from CAAHEP.2
ABHES (Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools) is also recognized and qualifies graduates for the RMA (through AMT) and the CCMA (through NHA). Altierus Career College in Norcross, for example, has held ABHES accreditation since 2011.1 Employers in Georgia generally accept graduates from either accreditor, but if the CMA credential specifically matters to you, confirm the program is CAAHEP-accredited before enrolling.
One more layer: institutional accreditation (regional or national) is separate from programmatic accreditation and is what makes a school eligible to disburse federal financial aid. A program can be CAAHEP-accredited but if the institution loses its institutional accreditation, your Pell Grant disappears. Check both.
Fully online medical assistant programs are rare because clinical skills, phlebotomy, EKGs, injection technique, cannot be taught through a screen alone. What you'll actually find in Georgia is a mix:
Strong outcomes are the real proof. Gwinnett Technical College reports a 96% first-time certification pass rate,1 Southern Crescent Technical College reported 100% first-time pass rates from 2017 to 2019,1 and Lanier Technical College has hit 100% job placement in most recent reporting years.1
One final habit: verify accreditation directly on the CAAHEP (caahep.org) or ABHES (abhes.org) websites before you enroll. Marketing brochures sometimes lag behind reality, and a program listed as "pending" or "probationary" changes what your credential is worth on the other side.
Paying for a medical assistant program is a real expense, but the good news is that most Georgia programs cost far less than a traditional four-year degree, and several financial aid options can shrink your out-of-pocket costs dramatically.
Georgia's technical colleges, many of which are Medical Assistant Trade Schools, offer some of the most affordable pathways in the country. In-state tuition at schools like Coastal Pines Technical College, Georgia Northwestern Technical College, and Ogeechee Technical College falls in the $3,200 to $3,400 range per year. After grants and aid, some students see an effective net price close to zero. Coastal Pines Technical College, for example, reports a negative net price for typical aid recipients, meaning grant money can actually exceed tuition and fees.
According to Medical Assistant Salary by State data, Georgia medical assistants earn roughly $37,000 to $38,000 per year at the median; a graduate who spent around $3,300 to $7,000 on their program can realistically recoup tuition within a few months of full-time work. Even at a school like Georgia Northwestern Technical College, where the median graduate debt sits around $6,400, monthly loan payments remain manageable on a medical assistant salary. At Central Georgia Technical College, the median debt is about $9,600, still quite low compared to many healthcare training paths.
Several Georgia programs enroll a high share of Pell Grant recipients. At Georgia Northwestern Technical College, over 92% of students receive Pell Grants. Central Georgia Technical College reports nearly 90%, and Lincoln College of Technology in Marietta tops 85%. If your family income qualifies you for a Pell Grant, the maximum award in the current academic year can cover most or all of the tuition at a technical college.
Beyond federal aid, Georgia residents should explore Medical Assistant Scholarships and Grants, including these key options:
A diploma or certificate program gets you into the workforce quickly, often in under a year, and the upfront cost is minimal. But an associate degree, while it may take 18 to 24 months and cost a bit more, can open doors to supervisory and lead medical assistant positions that typically pay several thousand dollars more per year. Graduates of associate-level programs also tend to have an easier time transitioning into related fields like health information technology or healthcare administration if they decide to advance later.
If you're choosing between an associate degree or certificate in medical assisting, the associate path may be worth the extra time. Georgia Northwestern Technical College and Central Georgia Technical College both offer associate degrees with in-state tuition under $3,500 per year. The extra semester or two of coursework is a modest investment when weighed against stronger long-term earning potential and career flexibility.
Medical assisting in Georgia offers one of the fastest returns on educational investment you will find in healthcare. The combination of low tuition at public technical colleges, generous state and federal grant programs, and steady employer demand means most graduates can expect to be in the black within their first year on the job. Just be sure to compare net price, not sticker price, when evaluating programs, because the financial aid picture can vary significantly from one school to the next.
Below are the questions prospective students ask most often about Georgia medical assistant programs. Each answer draws on current program data and credentialing requirements so you can plan your next move with confidence.
It depends on the program type. Certificate programs typically run 6 to 12 months1, while associate degree programs take 18 to 24 months1. Some accelerated options finish even faster. Northside Hospital, for example, offers a four-month program2, and Essential Training Centers wraps up in about 22 weeks3. Most students can be job-ready in under a year if they choose a certificate track.
Northside Hospital runs a medical assistant student program at no cost to participants2, making it the most affordable option in the state. Outside of employer-sponsored programs, Essential Training Centers offers its certificate for around $5,4503. Overall, Georgia program costs range from roughly $5,000 to $20,0004, so comparing tuition across schools before enrolling is well worth your time.
Yes. Several schools offer online or hybrid formats that let you complete coursework remotely and attend in-person labs or clinical rotations on a limited schedule. US Career Institute, for instance, provides a fully online medical assistant program available to Georgia residents4. Just confirm that any online program you consider holds CAAHEP or ABHES accreditation6 if you plan to sit for a national certification exam.
Georgia does not require a state license for medical assistants1, but getting certified in medical assisting significantly improves your job prospects. The two most common options are the Certified Medical Assistant (CMA) credential issued by the AAMA6 and the Certified Clinical Medical Assistant (CCMA) credential issued by the NHA5. Graduating from an accredited program typically qualifies you to sit for one or both exams.
For most people, yes. The medical assistant job outlook in Georgia is strong: 23 percent projected job growth5 through 2032, well above the national average of 15 percent. The state already employs more than 26,000 medical assistants5, with salaries generally falling between $39,000 and $42,0004. When you factor in short training timelines and relatively low tuition, the return on investment stacks up favorably compared to many other healthcare entry points.
Several do. Northside Hospital's program is designed to feed directly into positions within its own health system, giving completers a clear hiring pipeline2. Schools like Lincoln Tech in Marietta7 and Essential Training Centers3 also advertise career services or job placement support. When comparing programs, ask specifically about employer partnerships, externship-to-hire rates, and post-graduation career counseling before you commit.
This directory covers additional medical assistant programs in Georgia beyond the top 10 ranking above. Schools are grouped by region so you can scan the options closest to you, and each entry notes the program offered, its location, and whether training happens on campus, online, or in a hybrid format. Tuition and admission requirements change often, so confirm current costs and start dates directly with each school before you apply.