Skip to content

Medical Assistant Programs Near Saginaw, Michigan

Compare accredited programs, costs, and training options within commuting distance of Saginaw.

By Jennifer GubblerReviewed by Editorial StaffUpdated August 29, 202619 min read

Most important takeaways…

  • Delta College and Mid Michigan College offer accredited Saginaw MA programs.
  • CAAHEP or ABHES accreditation is required for national certification eligibility.
  • Program-level earnings for Saginaw medical assistant schools remain unpublished.

Covenant HealthCare, Ascension St. Mary's, and MyMichigan Health together anchor a Tri-Cities medical economy that needs a steady pipeline of front-office and clinical support staff, and medical assistants fill much of that gap. Most training runs 9 to 18 months depending on whether you pursue a certificate or an associate degree, and tuition ranges widely based on credential type and campus.

Saginaw students have a handful of local campus options, including Delta College, plus online and hybrid paths that shift classroom work off-site while keeping clinical hours local. The real tension isn't finding a program: it's matching cost and timeline to a credential that actually gets you certified and hired.

Jump straight to the program list →

Saginaw's Healthcare Landscape and Why MAs Are in Demand

Covenant HealthCare operates as the largest employer in the Saginaw area, anchoring a regional healthcare network that includes Ascension St. Mary's and MyMichigan Health (formerly MidMichigan). These systems, along with dozens of primary care clinics, urgent care centers, and specialty practices scattered across the Tri-Cities of Saginaw, Bay City, and Midland, create steady demand for trained medical assistants who can keep patient flow moving efficiently.

Regional Employment Geography

Students exploring MA careers from Saginaw should think regionally. Bay City sits just 15 minutes north, Midland about 25 minutes northwest, and both cities host major hospital campuses and outpatient networks. Flint, roughly 35 minutes south, adds another layer of opportunity with its own health systems. Even smaller communities like Frankenmuth and Birch Run, both within 20 minutes, support family medicine and specialty clinics that regularly hire medical assistants. Casting a wider net during your job search often shortens your time between graduation and employment.

Why Local Demand Keeps Growing

The Saginaw-Midland-Bay City metro area has an aging population, and older residents need more frequent primary care visits, chronic disease management, and preventive screenings. At the same time, the region faces ongoing shortages of primary care physicians. When physician time is stretched thin, clinics rely more heavily on medical assistants to handle rooming patients, taking vital signs, documenting histories, and preparing exam rooms for the next appointment.

What Michigan Lets MAs Do

Michigan operates under a delegation model: physicians authorize specific tasks, and MAs carry them out under supervision.1 Common duties include recording vital signs, obtaining patient histories, assisting with exams and minor procedures, performing basic lab work, running EKGs, administering medications, and giving injections.2 The state does not require a separate license for medical assistants1, though employers typically expect graduation from one of the medical assistant schools in Michigan and often prefer candidates who hold a medical assistant certification like the CMA or RMA.

Importantly, MAs in Michigan cannot diagnose conditions, interpret test results independently, prescribe medications, or perform any task requiring independent clinical judgment.3 Those boundaries exist to protect patients while still giving MAs a meaningful role as clinical medical assistants that goes beyond purely administrative work. If you are comparing states, Michigan's scope tends to be broader than some, giving trained assistants hands-on patient care responsibilities from day one.

How Long Does Medical Assistant Training Take?

In Saginaw, the fastest option is usually a certificate, while an associate degree adds broader general education coursework. Certificate students can enter the workforce sooner; associate students may build a stronger foundation for advancement. Both credential types can prepare you for the CMA or RMA certification exam. Local scheduling also matters: Delta College's Medical Assistant Administrative and Clinical course runs Saturdays and Wednesdays from September 2026 through April 2027 for students who need evening or weekend training. Because schedules vary, ask each school directly about rolling start dates, accelerated tracks, and whether evening courses fit your current work hours.

Certificate programs typically take 9-12 months and 30-40 credits, while associate degrees take 18-24 months and 60-70 credits.

Online and Hybrid Medical Assistant Programs Accessible From Saginaw

Can you actually complete medical assistant training programs online from Saginaw, or will you still need to show up in person? The short answer: you can complete much of the classroom work online, but the hands-on portion still requires an in-person lab, externship, or clinical site.

What hybrid really means

A fully online medical assistant program's medical assisting course curriculum may cover medical terminology, anatomy, and administrative skills from your laptop. It will not replace the practical skills, such as taking vital signs, drawing blood, or assisting with exams, that employers expect. In practice, most Saginaw-area students choose a hybrid format: online lectures and assignments, plus scheduled on-campus labs or a local externship.

SVSU Continuing Education: Check Before You Enroll

Saginaw Valley State University's continuing education catalog has listed a clinical medical assistant certification track, often described as CCMA training. As of 2026, the published materials do not clearly confirm whether the course is enrolling, whether it is fully online or hybrid, or which accreditation body oversees it. The CCMA label suggests the National Healthcareer Association exam pathway, but SVSU does not state that completion guarantees exam eligibility. If this option interests you, contact SVSU's continuing education office directly and ask about current format, clinical hours, and exam eligibility before paying.

Saginaw-area and Michigan online options

Among Saginaw-based programs, Dorsey College's medical assistant program uses a hybrid delivery model.1 Dorsey is accredited by the Commission of the Council on Occupational Education, not by CAAHEP or ABHES.1 That does not automatically disqualify it, but confirm in writing which certification exams its graduates can sit for. Ross College's Saginaw campus is generally described as in-person, so it may not fit if you need a mostly online schedule.2

Several online or hybrid options accept Michigan students and may work from Saginaw. Herzing University's medical assisting track combines online instruction with hands-on labs and an externship and states it prepares students for the CCMA or RMA exams.3 Skilltrade uses a hybrid model aligned with the CCMA exam and includes one certification attempt.4 Covenant Academy offers a blended 12-week course with an 80-hour externship and prepares students for NHA or NCCT certification.5 US Career Institute offers self-paced online coursework with CCMA exam prep, but it does not appear to include a structured clinical component.6

Accreditation matters most for certification

None of the online or hybrid options identified in the Saginaw area were confirmed to be both CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited and explicitly CMA-eligible. Many online programs target the CCMA or RMA routes, not the certified medical assistant exam route. Before enrollment, verify the program's accreditation on the CAAHEP or ABHES website and ask which exams you will qualify for. Large online brands such as Penn Foster and Ultimate Medical Academy may also appear in search results, but accreditation and clinical requirements can vary by program and state. Do not assume an online program includes Michigan externship placement or CMA eligibility.

How Much Do Saginaw-Area MA Programs Cost?

Costs for medical assistant training near Saginaw vary by credential type and program length. Certificate programs generally carry a lower total cost than associate degrees because of their shorter duration. Net price after aid is often the more realistic figure because it averages grants and scholarships, and Pell-eligible students may pay less than the published tuition. Median federal loan debt below shows the borrowing load graduates carry, though monthly repayment estimates are not published for these programs.

SchoolCredentialPublished TuitionAverage Net Price After AidMedian Federal Loan Debt
Delta College (University Center, MI)Certificate or Diploma$7,550$4,547$10,978
Mid Michigan College (Harrison, MI)Associate Degree$8,810$8,370$13,750
Baker College (Owosso, MI)Certificate or Diploma$13,000$13,157$25,000

Questions to Ask Yourself

  1. Do you need evening or weekend classes to fit around a current job?

    Many Saginaw-area students keep working while training, so confirm the schedule matches your shifts before enrolling, since a mismatch can derail completion.

  2. Is a 9-month certificate enough, or would an associate degree open more doors?

    Certificates get you working faster, but an associate degree can qualify you for higher-paying roles or supervisory tracks down the road.

  3. Does the program hold CAAHEP or ABHES accreditation?

    Accreditation status often determines which certification exam you can sit for, so verify this before committing tuition dollars.

  4. Can you complete externship hours within a reasonable commute?

    Clinical placements near Saginaw save gas money and time, and a shorter commute makes it easier to balance externship hours with home and work obligations.

Accreditation and Certification: What Saginaw Students Should Know

Accreditation is the gateway to national certification for medical assistants. Both CAAHEP and ABHES are recognized by major certifying bodies, but they review programs differently. Before enrolling, Saginaw students should confirm a school's current accreditation status directly through the official directories, because the sources reviewed for this guide did not confirm specific accreditation for Delta College, Dorsey, or Ross.

FeatureCAAHEPABHES
Accreditation scopeProgrammatic onlyInstitutional and programmatic
CMA (AAMA) exam eligibilityEligibleEligible
RMA (AMT) exam eligibilityEligibleEligible
Saginaw-area program accreditation statusNot confirmed in sources reviewed; verify through CAAHEP directoryNot confirmed in sources reviewed; verify through ABHES directory
What students should doCheck current CAAHEP list for programs near SaginawCheck current ABHES list for programs near Saginaw

Externship and Clinical Training in the Saginaw Area

The [[LINK:1|medical assistant externship]] is where classroom confidence meets real patient flow, and that creates a tradeoff many Saginaw students feel acutely: you want enough supervised hours to feel ready for certification and the job market, but you also need a placement that is close enough to fit your commute, schedule, and family obligations. For many medical assistant students, the externship ends up being the most demanding and most career-defining part of the program.

## How Many Hours, and When

Across medical assistant training, externships commonly run about 160 to 240 hours, usually landing in the final stretch of the program after skills labs and classroom foundations are complete. In Saginaw, published details vary. Delta College's clinical medical assistant program runs three semesters and 35 credits, but the public catalog does not state a firm externship hour minimum.[[CITE:1]] If you are comparing programs, ask the program coordinator for the current hour expectation and the scheduling format before you commit.

## Local Clinical Partners Serving Saginaw Students

Delta College's affiliation agreements give students exposure across the Saginaw-Midland-Bay City region and beyond. Named partners include:

- Hospital systems such as Covenant and Ascension Michigan, which offer inpatient and outpatient clinical settings. - Community health and regional providers including Great Lakes Bay Health Center, McLaren Bay Region, McLaren Central Region, and Mid-Michigan Health. - Multi-specialty clinics and urgent care sites, which are common settings for medical assistant externship tasks.

Exact campuses and clinics are not always listed publicly, so treat the affiliation list as a starting point for conversations about placement options.[[CITE:1]]

## What You Will Do and How It Prepares You for Certification

During an externship, expect to work under a preceptor while rooming patients, taking vital signs, updating medication lists, performing point-of-care tests, setting up exam rooms, and assisting with procedures. Depending on the site, you may also practice EKG lead placement, phlebotomy, and electronic health record documentation. These are the same skills tested in certification preparation and, more importantly, the same skills employers expect you to perform with limited direction on day one.

## Treat the Externship as a Working Interview

Arrive early, bring a small notebook, use [[LINK:2|medical assistant interview tips]] like asking thoughtful questions, and treat every interaction as a potential reference. Clinic supervisors notice reliability, communication, and infection-control habits before they notice technical speed. Externship placements can turn into job offers, but even when they do not, a strong clinical supervisor can become a local reference or a lead on an unposted opening in the Tri-Cities area.

What Saginaw-Area Medical Assistants Earn After Graduation

The central tension most students face here is between the cost of training and the medical assistant salary that follows. In Saginaw, that calculation is harder to pin down because program-level earnings for individual medical assistant schools are not yet available in a form we can report. You have to lean on broader state and regional wage data to set realistic expectations.

Statewide Numbers Set the Baseline

Michigan's median annual wage for medical assistants was $39,840 according to the most recent state data available.1 That sits below the national median of $44,200, a gap of roughly $4,360 per year.2 The national figure is more current, but it reflects the whole country, not Saginaw or even Michigan. For a prospective student in Saginaw, the state median is the better starting point because local employers tend to anchor pay to Michigan ranges rather than national averages.

Saginaw's Local Wage Picture

A detailed metro-level breakout for the Saginaw-Midland-Bay City area is not currently published in a way we can verify with confidence. That means you should treat any very specific local median, 10th percentile, or 90th percentile figure with caution. What we can say is that the region's cost of living, especially for housing and everyday expenses, is typically lower than in metro Detroit or Ann Arbor. If a Saginaw-area medical assistant earns below the Michigan median, the actual buying power may be closer than the raw number suggests. Keep that offset in mind when comparing job offers across the state.

What Moves the Needle: Certification and Education

Employers in the Saginaw area routinely prefer or require the CMA (AAMA) or RMA credential. Earning one of those certifications can push a starting offer toward the upper end of the local range. An associate degree, while not required for most entry-level roles, can help if you later want to explore medical assistant advancement opportunities such as lead medical assistant, clinical coordinator, or other allied health roles that pay above the median.

  • Certification: CMA or RMA credentials often unlock higher starting wages than uncertified positions.
  • Associate degree: Can lead to faster advancement and better pay later in your career.
  • Experience: Even one to two years in a Saginaw clinic or hospital can move you from the lower end of the range toward the middle.

Accredited Medical Assistant Programs Serving Saginaw Students

Below are the top medical assistant programs serving Saginaw students, ranked by IPEDS completion data, accreditation status, and program fit. These options range from a fast certificate at Delta College to stackable associate and credential pathways at Mid Michigan College, with hybrid formats available throughout the region.

How this list was built
Factors considered
  • Accreditation and certification readiness
  • Tuition and net price
  • Clinical training access
  • Delivery mode flexibility
  • Completion and retention outcomes
Sources

Delta College

#1

University Center, MI · $5,000/yr (net price)

Best for: Saginaw-area students seeking simulated hospital training

Delta College in University Center is a short drive from Saginaw and offers a Clinical Medical Assistant certificate built around simulated hospital training and clinical rotations with regional health systems. The blended format pairs online coursework with on-campus labs, and the 35-credit certificate can stack into an associate degree for students who later want more training.

  • Three-semester certificate with 35 total credit hours
  • Prepares for CMA or RMA certification exam
  • Blended online coursework with simulated hospital lab training
  • Clinical rotations arranged with regional health systems
  • In-district tuition starts around $7,043
  • Credits stack toward an associate degree

Baker College

#2

Owosso, MI · $13,000/yr

Best for: Career changers wanting one-year hybrid pacing

Baker College offers a one-year, CAAHEP-accredited Medical Assistant Certificate with hybrid online flexibility, making it an option for Saginaw-area students who can travel for in-person labs. The 30-credit curriculum includes 160 clinical hours and prepares students for the AAMA Certified Medical Assistant exam.

  • One-year, CAAHEP-accredited certificate
  • 30 credit hours including 160 clinical practicum hours
  • Covers patient assessments, injections, billing, and EHR
  • Prepares for the AAMA CMA exam
  • Hybrid with online courses for flexibility

Mid Michigan College

#3

Harrison, MI · $8,000/yr (net price)

Best for: Credential stackers comparing associate and certificate paths

Mid Michigan College's Harrison campus is a longer drive from Saginaw, but the school stands out for offering both an associate degree and a 10-month credential that share a common foundation and can ladder into each other. The program is CAAHEP and MAERB accredited, includes a 160-hour externship split across administrative and clinical duties, and reports strong graduate employment outcomes.

  • 64-credit associate degree across six semesters
  • Requires 2.5 GPA in program courses, background check, drug screen
  • Covers medical terminology, billing, pharmacology, and lab procedures
  • Prepares for the CMA (AAMA) certification exam
  • CAAHEP and MAERB accredited
  • Includes hands-on externships
  • 10-month training credential with 39 credits
  • Starts in fall in a cohort-based format
  • Requires 2.5 GPA, background check, and drug screen
  • 160 clinical hours plus a capstone
  • Prepares for CMA (AAMA) exam
  • 91% graduate employment rate reported
  • Ladders into the MA associate degree

Admissions Requirements and How to Get Started

Most Saginaw-area medical assistant programs start with basic eligibility and documentation. Delta College’s 2026 cohort provides a concrete checklist; requirements at Dorsey Schools and Ross Medical Education Center in Saginaw could not be verified from available 2026 materials.

  1. Basic eligibility
    At Delta College, you must be at least 18 years old and have a high school diploma or GED. If your diploma is from outside the U.S., plan ahead for a complete transcript evaluation. Delta’s published requirements do not list a placement test, but program-specific requirements can vary.
  2. Clinical documentation
    Before externship, Delta requires immunization records or a COVID-19 vaccine card, a passing background check and drug screening, an American Heart Association CPR card, a current resume, and a driver’s license or state ID. Some programs may also ask for a health screening or personal essay, so confirm each school’s checklist.
  3. 2026 start dates
    Delta College’s medical assistant cohort starts September 5, 2026 and runs through April 10, 2027. Admissions are accepted continuously, but it is best to apply 6–8 months before enrollment, and no later than 30 days before.
  4. Financial aid steps
    Complete the FAFSA to determine Pell Grant eligibility. If using financial aid, submit materials 8–10 weeks before registration. Delta’s listed program cost is $2,710 with full payment required; ask the financial aid office about school-specific payment plan options.

Frequently Asked Questions About MA Schools in Saginaw

These quick answers cover the questions prospective Saginaw students ask most often about medical assistant training timelines, online options, accreditation, and certification.

How long does it take to become a medical assistant in Saginaw, MI?

Most Saginaw-area certificate and diploma programs have a medical assistant program length of about 10 months to 1 year. Dorsey College's Saginaw campus and Baker College both list 12-month programs14, while MyMichigan and Mid Michigan College offer 10-month credentials25. Delta College's clinical medical assistant program runs three semesters3. Some online options can be shorter.

Can you become a medical assistant online in Michigan?

Yes, but most online programs combine virtual coursework with in-person clinical hours. Herzing University offers a 10-month diploma and a 16-month associate to Michigan residents online6. US Career Institute advertises a fully online, self-paced option in 4 to 7 months7, and Stepful offers a 5-month online program with 80 to 160 clinical hours.

What is the difference between a CMA and an RMA certification?

The RMA vs CMA distinction comes down to different credentials from different certifying bodies, not different job titles. The CMA, or Certified Medical Assistant, is typically earned through an AAMA exam. The RMA, or Registered Medical Assistant, comes from another organization. Michigan does not require either, so employers may prefer one, but both can support job applications and advancement.

Are there accredited medical assistant programs near Saginaw?

Yes, but accreditation varies by program. Baker College's medical assistant certificate is CAAHEP-accredited4, making it one of the accredited medical assistant trade schools in the region. Ross Medical in Lansing has ABHES accreditation, though it is farther from Saginaw. Delta College and Mid Michigan College serve the region, but their specific MA program accreditation is not confirmed in the available information.

What are the requirements to become a medical assistant in Michigan?

Michigan does not require medical assistants to be licensed or certified8. Most training programs expect a high school diploma or GED, age 18 or older, a background check, and current immunizations8. Some employers or clinical sites may also require health screenings, drug or nicotine testing, and proof of specific vaccines before you begin an externship.

Recent Articles