Skip to content

Medical Assistant Programs Within Reach of Maricopa, AZ

Compare accredited certificate and associate programs, costs, clinical hours, and schedules near the 85239 area.

By Jennifer GubblerReviewed by Editorial StaffUpdated August 29, 202624 min read

Most important takeaways…

  • Central Arizona College’s net price is the area’s lowest at $4,714.
  • CAAHEP or ABHES accreditation is required for most Arizona employers.
  • New medical assistants in Maricopa County earn mid-$30,000s their first year.

Zero programs to become a clinical medical assistant operate inside Maricopa city limits, so every local student commutes, whether that means a 30 minute drive to Chandler or Coolidge or closer to 50 minutes into Mesa or Phoenix. That tradeoff, drive time against program fit, is the first real decision Maricopa residents face before they even compare tuition or accreditation.

The upside is the destination: Phoenix metro's hospital systems, urgent care networks, and outpatient clinics are hiring at a pace that keeps most graduates getting a medical assistant job with no experience within months of finishing a program. Employers here are less concerned with which side of the Valley you trained on than whether your program carries proper accreditation.

Jump straight to the program list →

Why Maricopa Is a Smart Place to Launch a Medical Assisting Career

Is there enough local demand to justify starting a medical assisting career from Maricopa, AZ, or will you end up commuting to the far side of the Valley for work?

The short answer: Maricopa's location puts you within easy reach of a fast-growing healthcare corridor, and the barriers to entering the profession here are lower than in many other states.

Major Health Systems Hiring Close to Home

The Phoenix metro is home to some of the largest healthcare employers in the Southwest, and several operate clinics much closer to Maricopa than downtown Phoenix. Banner Health, HonorHealth, Dignity Health (part of CommonSpirit Health), and Valleywise Health all maintain outpatient clinics, urgent-care centers, and specialty offices across the southeast Valley. Communities like Chandler, Gilbert, and Casa Grande, each roughly 20 to 30 minutes from Maricopa, host a growing number of these locations. That means newly credentialed MAs do not necessarily need to fight I-10 traffic into central Phoenix to find work.

Population Growth Is Driving Clinic Openings

Pinal County and the southeast Valley corridor, including Maricopa, Queen Creek, and San Tan Valley, have experienced some of the fastest population growth in Arizona over the past decade. More residents mean more primary-care and urgent-care clinics opening to serve them. The Bureau of Labor Statistics projects strong national job growth for medical assistants, and the Phoenix metro's expansion rate suggests local demand matches or exceeds that national trend. For students who train now, the timing lines up well with new facilities staffing up.

No State Licensure, but Certification Still Matters

Arizona does not require state licensure or state certification to work as a medical assistant.1 That lowers the barrier to entry compared to states with formal licensing requirements. However, the absence of a state mandate makes earning a nationally recognized credential from Arizona medical assistant programs, such as the CMA (Certified Medical Assistant) through AAMA or the RMA (Registered Medical Assistant) through AMT, a stronger way to stand out. While not every Phoenix-area employer requires national certification, some do, and malpractice insurers may also make it a condition.3 Employers who hire uncertified MAs are required to provide appropriate training, but walking in with a credential signals that you have already met a validated standard of competence. In a competitive metro job market, the benefits of medical assistant certification make a clear difference.

A Practical Scope of Practice

Arizona's medical assistant scope of practice allows medical assistants to take patient histories, measure vitals, assist with exams, perform physician-ordered diagnostic tests, and administer oral medications. With training from an approved program, MAs can also give subcutaneous and intramuscular injections. Recent legislative updates have expanded the scope further, allowing MAs to communicate documented medical advice, relay test results, and handle prior authorizations when directed by a physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner.4 These are meaningful, hands-on clinical duties that keep the work engaging from day one.

All of this adds up to a practical equation: Maricopa gives you proximity to expanding healthcare employers, a regulatory environment that lets you start working quickly, and a credential path that sets you apart once you do.

Commuting to Campus From Maricopa: Drive Times, Routes, and Hybrid Alternatives

Maricopa sits in a transit blind spot. There's no Valley Metro bus or light rail service reaching the 85239 zip code, and no direct commuter rail either, so a personal vehicle is essentially required for in-person classes. Your two main arteries out of town are SR-347 heading north toward the I-10 interchange, and I-10 itself, which connects you to Phoenix and East Valley campuses. Both bottleneck during weekday peaks, particularly SR-347 northbound in the morning and southbound in the late afternoon.

Approximate Drive Times to Nearby Campuses

Here's what you're realistically looking at from central Maricopa, assuming off-peak traffic. Add 15 to 25 minutes during rush hour, especially on SR-347.

  • Central Arizona College, Signal Peak (Coolidge): About 30 to 35 minutes, roughly 32 miles east.1 This is the closest accredited option and the easiest daily commute.
  • Central Arizona College, Maricopa Campus: In town at 17945 N Regent Dr2, though program offerings here are more limited than Signal Peak.
  • GateWay Community College (Phoenix): Around 45 to 60 minutes via I-10, longer during peak commute windows.
  • Phoenix College: Roughly 50 to 65 minutes depending on traffic and time of day.
  • Pima Medical Institute Mesa and Arizona College Mesa: Each about 55 to 70 minutes, since Mesa sits on the far side of the metro.

When the Drive Feels Too Long

If a 90-minute daily round trip to Coolidge, or a 2-hour round trip to Phoenix or Mesa, sounds unsustainable on top of clinical externship hours, evening medical assistant classes and weekend formats can cut your on-campus days down to one or two per week. Several programs in the area offer exactly that kind of schedule flexibility, which we'll walk through next.

For students who want to minimize windshield time entirely, Central Arizona College's Signal Peak campus in Coolidge remains the strongest choice: closest, shortest drive, and an accredited medical assistant program.

Night, Weekend, and Hybrid Schedules for Working Adults

Central Arizona College’s Medical Assistant AAS and Certificate programs are campus-based at the Superstition Mountain Campus, and program pages for the 2026, 2027 year don’t mention evening, weekend, or hybrid options.1 Arizona College’s 31-week Medical Assistant with Phlebotomy diploma is offered at its Mesa campus, but the college hasn’t published alternative schedule details for that intake.2 For GateWay Community College, Phoenix College, and Pima Medical Institute Mesa, no public schedule pages were available at time of writing. So the route to finding a schedule that fits your work life starts with a direct check.

What Official Program Pages Show

Most college sites structure medical assisting as daytime, in-person training. Central Arizona College’s program director, Lisa Mahone, is listed as the point of contact, which is a strong sign that specific scheduling questions should go straight to her office. Arizona College’s Mesa campus at 163 N Dobson Rd runs a fast-track diploma, but the website doesn’t clarify whether any portion of the 31 weeks can be taken in the evening or online. For the other metro-area schools, the lack of visible evening or hybrid language in program listings means you shouldn’t assume flexible delivery exists until you verify it firsthand.

Steps to Pin Down Your Schedule

  • Search campus websites thoughtfully: Use the site’s internal search for phrases like “course schedule,” “class times,” “catalog,” or “online learning.” Medical assistant pages sometimes bury schedule notes inside a broader health programs section.
  • Call or email admissions directly: A quick email or phone call can get you a sample weekly schedule. Ask outright: “Do you offer evening lectures, weekend labs, or hybrid formats for the 2026, 2027 medical assistant cohort?” If they don’t, request a typical weekly timetable so you can plan work hours around it.
  • Attend a virtual info session or campus visit: Many colleges run regular information sessions where you can ask about accommodations for working adults and compare the program's time commitment with a typical medical assistant workday to plan realistically.
  • Consult authoritative background sources: The Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Outlook Handbook, the American Association of Medical Assistants (AAMA), and resources like medical assistant training programs can help you understand standard program lengths, accreditation requirements, and the time required for labs and clinical externships. That baseline lets you compare what schools promise against the reality of the profession.

Because actual night, weekend, and hybrid offerings for the 2026, 2027 year aren’t yet confirmed in public materials, the smartest move is to treat every program as daytime-only until you hear otherwise from an admissions counselor. That way you avoid committing to a schedule that clashes with your job or family responsibilities.

Certificate vs. Associate Degree: Which Path Fits You?

Certificate programs run 9-12 months and cost less, getting you into the workforce quickly. Associate degrees take two years and include general education, which can be a stepping stone to nursing or health administration. According to IPEDS & College Scorecard (2023), medical assistant graduates with associate degrees earn only slightly more in early careers, so the choice often comes down to your long-term goals.

Comparison of certificate and associate degree options for medical assistant training: duration, cost, certification eligibility, earnings potential, and further education pathways.

Accreditation: CAAHEP vs. ABHES and Why It Matters for Certification

Accreditation determines which certification exam you can sit for after graduation, and that single detail can shape your entire job search. If a program is not an accredited medical assistant program by either CAAHEP or ABHES, most Arizona employers will not consider your application, and the two major national credentials will be out of reach.

CAAHEP and the CMA Pathway

CAAHEP (the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs) is the accreditor required for graduates to sit for the CMA exam administered by the American Association of Medical Assistants (AAMA). The CMA is the most widely recognized medical assisting credential in the country, and many hospital systems in the Phoenix metro list it as preferred or required on their MA job postings.

AAMA's most recent published outcome data covers exams taken between July 2024 and April 2025: of 4,171 total exams administered, 2,680 were first-time attempts, and the first-time pass rate was 69%.1 That figure covers all candidates nationally across every eligibility pathway, not a single school, so treat it as a general benchmark rather than a program-specific number.

ABHES and the RMA Pathway

ABHES (the Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools) accredits many career-college MA programs. Graduates of ABHES-accredited programs qualify for the RMA exam through American Medical Technologists (AMT). The RMA is broadly accepted by Arizona employers, including large clinic networks, and functions as a practical equivalent to the CMA in most hiring decisions.

What to Check Before You Enroll

Before signing any enrollment paperwork, verify accreditation directly on the CAAHEP or ABHES website using the school's exact program name, not just the campus name. A college can be regionally accredited while its MA program is not, and that distinction is what determines your exam eligibility. Ask the admissions office which credential their graduates typically pursue and request any recent first-time pass rate data they have on file for that program specifically.

Program Costs and Financial Aid Comparison

Central Arizona College offers the lowest annual net price at $4,714, while private career colleges like Bryan University and Carrington College report net prices exceeding $20,000. Pell Grant eligibility is widespread across these schools, with over 75% of students receiving aid at most campuses, indicating a significant share of students qualify for need-based financial assistance.

SchoolIn-State TuitionOut-of-State TuitionNet Price (Avg Annual)Pell Grant Recipients
Central Arizona College$2,250$4,500$4,71493%
Chandler-Gilbert Community College$2,358$8,958$12,72679%
GateWay Community College$2,358$8,958$13,33985%
Bryan University$12,219$12,219$20,83491%
Pima Medical Institute-MesaN/AN/A$21,46175%
Brookline College-TempeN/AN/A$22,29788%
Carrington College-MesaN/AN/A$48,87787%

What Maricopa-Area MA Graduates Actually Earn

What the Data Doesn't Show Yet

Right now, the federal College Scorecard does not provide program-level earnings for medical assistant graduates from the schools near Maricopa. That means we can't line up median wages one year or two years after completing each certificate or degree. Without that granular data, pinning down a debt-to-earnings ratio for any single program isn't possible, and we can't report the share of alumni who earn above the poverty line soon after leaving school.

This can feel frustrating, but it reflects a reality: outcome data on shorter-term credential programs often lags. The missing numbers don't signal a lack of value, just a need to lean on other trustworthy sources while we wait for more detailed reporting.

Phoenix-Area Medical Assistant Salaries: A Broader View

For a reliable benchmark, we look at the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Medical assistants across the Phoenix-Mesa-Chandler metropolitan area earn a median annual wage around $41,000, which breaks down to roughly $19.50 to $20.00 per hour. That metro-wide figure includes MAs at all stages of their careers, in every setting from small private practices to large hospital networks.

New graduates often start below the median and work their way up as they gain experience, earn certifications, such as the CMA certification exam, and take on more responsibilities. Still, having a solid region-wide number gives you a benchmark for medical assistant salary once you're settled in the field.

Why Debt Matters Even Without Program Earnings

Even if we can't calculate exact returns, the cost side of the equation is clear enough to offer peace of mind. Most local programs come with a manageable net price. For example, Chandler-Gilbert Community College and GateWay Community College show net prices in the $12,700 to $13,300 range, while even the more expensive private options stay under $22,000 after medical assistant grants and scholarships are factored in. Median debt for all graduates at these institutions runs between $6,750 and $20,000, hinting that many students complete training without heavy loan burdens. While these figures cover all graduates, not just MA completers, they suggest that starting a medical assisting career won't saddle you with overwhelming student loan payments.

With median program costs often under $10,000 at local community colleges and first-year graduates in the Maricopa County area earning in the mid-$30,000s, many new medical assistants recoup their training investment within months of starting work.
theemedicalassistants.com analysis of Bureau of Labor Statistics and IPEDS data, 2026

How Long Is Medical Assistant Training Near Maricopa?

How many months does it take to complete a medical assistant program near Maricopa, AZ, and what factors make the timeline shorter or longer?

Certificate programs: 9 to 12 months

Most certificate programs in the Maricopa area fit into a 9 to 12 month window of full-time study, including the final clinical externship. Central Arizona College, for example, structures its medical assistant certificate so students can finish classroom and lab work in roughly two semesters before moving into the practicum. Many private schools compress the didactic portion into fewer months, with some offering day or evening tracks that wrap up in as little as 8 to 10 months of continuous enrollment.

Associate degree: around 2 years

If you choose an associate degree in medical assisting, plan for about four semesters of full-time coursework, which typically spans 18 to 24 months. Community colleges like GateWay and Phoenix College embed general education requirements alongside the core clinical and administrative curriculum, so the associate pathway adds roughly a year compared to a certificate. The extra time can be worth it if you later want to ladder into a bachelor’s degree in healthcare administration or nursing.

Clinical externship hours: the hands-on requirement

A medical assistant externship's required hours are built into each program and vary by school. Central Arizona College requires 180 hours1 of supervised practice in an ambulatory health care setting2, typically completed during daytime shifts Monday through Friday, with some urgent care sites offering evening or weekend slots. GateWay Community College mandates 100 hours of unpaid, supervised experience in medical offices.3 For Phoenix College, the clinical externship runs through a Mayo Clinic Arizona affiliation, spanning 4 to 6 weeks in Phoenix or Scottsdale4, though the exact hour count is not published by the program. Arizona College Mesa includes a 5-week off-campus externship after the on-campus phase5, but the total clinical hours are not specified in program materials. Pima Medical Institute’s Mesa campus does not disclose a uniform externship hour requirement in publicly available documents, so you would need to confirm the current total during advising.

Where you’ll do your externship , and how far you might travel

Schools assign externship sites, and clinics in Mesa, Chandler, Phoenix, and occasionally Casa Grande are common placements for students commuting from Maricopa. Central Arizona College arranges sites and coordinates supervision through its practicum coordinator, generally placing students in ambulatory facilities within reasonable driving distance of campus or the student’s home area. Gateway and Phoenix College students often train at sites near their respective Phoenix-area campuses. The commute implications are real: a 4-to-6-week externship at a Mesa clinic means driving roughly 25, 35 minutes from Maricopa each way, and if your placement is in north Phoenix or Scottsdale, the drive can stretch past 45 minutes. Ask prospective schools how they match sites to student locations and whether any remote or hybrid externship components exist.

Accelerated and hybrid formats

Some private and for-profit schools offer an accelerated medical assistant program that compresses the timeline by eliminating breaks between terms, allowing a certificate in 7 to 9 months of full-time commitment. Hybrid programs, where lectures are online and labs are held on campus once or twice a week, can also shorten the in-person time commitment while keeping the total program length similar to traditional formats. If you need to work while training, evening and weekend tracks spread the coursework over a longer period, which extends the calendar timeline even though the credit hours stay the same.

Admission Prerequisites for Programs Near Maricopa

Before you apply, gather these typical admission requirements for medical assistant programs near Maricopa. Always confirm details with your chosen school, as requirements can change.

  1. High school diploma or GED
    All accredited programs in the area require applicants to hold a high school diploma or GED equivalency. The Maricopa Community College District also sets a minimum age of 18.
  2. Placement tests and entrance exams
    Community colleges often use placement tests (English, Reading, Mathematics) to ensure readiness. Central Arizona College requires the HESI Entrance Test with a score of 75% or higher on each section, plus an information session.
  3. Background checks and health requirements
    Expect to complete a background check, Arizona College and Maricopa Community Colleges both require one. Many programs also ask for a fingerprint clearance card, up-to-date immunizations, and CPR certification before clinical rotations.
  4. Application steps and deadlines
    Community college programs may be open-admission for general coursework but have selective entry into the medical assisting core. For example, Central Arizona requires applying to the program director after meeting prerequisites. Private programs may use rolling admissions; as deadlines for the 2026–2027 cycle aren’t widely published yet, contact schools directly for the latest dates.

Medical Assistant Programs Near Maricopa, Ranked by Value

Below are the top medical assistant programs serving Maricopa students, ranked by net price, graduation rates, and program-level earnings outcomes. The list includes both certificate and diploma options, with campus locations in Mesa, Phoenix, Tempe, Chandler, and the Superstition Mountain area.

How we ranked these
Factors considered
  • Prioritizes first-year student retention
  • Weighs ten-year post-completion earnings
  • Considers net price after aid
  • Reviews schoolwide graduation rates
  • Less weight on debt and class size
Data sources
  • Federal institutional data (NCES-IPEDS) covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
  • BEA Regional Price Parities (state cost of living) — bea.gov
  • College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Internal program database
  • Independent program research

Pima Medical Institute-Mesa

#1

Mesa, AZ · $21,000/yr (est. net price)

Best for: Career changers wanting hands-on clinicals

Pima Medical Institute-Mesa offers a nine-month Medical Assistant Certificate at its Mesa campus, with a hybrid learning option that combines online coursework and in-person labs. The school's effective net price is around $21,461, and its former students report median earnings near $38,673. Program-level first-year earnings are not separately reported, and the schoolwide graduation rate is about 67% across all programs.

  • Nine-month certificate at the Mesa campus
  • Hybrid learning option available
  • Clinical externship included
  • Career services support for job placement
  • Covers clinical and clerical duties

GateWay Community College

#2

Phoenix, AZ · $10,000 – $15,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Best for: Budget-conscious students wanting structured cohort

GateWay Community College in Phoenix offers a Certificate of Competency in Medical Assisting through a fast-track, cohort-based campus format that includes 200 clinical hours. The effective net price is around $13,339, and former students report median earnings near $46,147. The college's schoolwide graduation rate is about 29%, though program-specific rates are not reported.

  • Fast-track, cohort-based campus format
  • Includes 200 clinical hours
  • Prerequisite courses required
  • Prepares for national certification exam
  • Requires CPR/BLS certification
  • Background check required

Carrington College-Mesa

#3

Mesa, AZ · $45,000 – $50,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Working adults needing hybrid online coursework

Carrington College-Mesa combines online coursework with an in-person externship in its nine-month Medical Assisting certificate at the Mesa campus. The effective net price is around $48,877, and former students report median earnings near $36,718. The school reports a schoolwide graduation rate of about 54%, and program-level first-year earnings are not available.

  • Nine-month program at the Mesa campus
  • Online coursework with in-person externship
  • Entrance exam required
  • Financial aid and scholarships available
  • Prepares for certification exams
  • Includes EHR and medical office software training

Central Arizona College

#4

Coolidge, AZ · $5,000/yr (est. net price)

Central Arizona College, based in Coolidge, offers a Medical Assistant Certificate at its Superstition Mountain Campus, with an additional CAAHEP-accredited associate degree pathway for students who want more coursework. The effective net price is around $4,714, and former students report median earnings near $40,513. The collegewide graduation rate is about 27%, though program-specific completion is not reported.

  • Offered at Superstition Mountain Campus
  • Prepares for AMT certification exam
  • CAAHEP-accredited associate degree pathway available
  • Financial aid available
  • Career and transfer resources available

Bryan University

#5

Tempe, AZ · ~$21,000/yr (est.)

Bryan University in Tempe offers a fully online Clinical Medical Assistant Certificate that spans 10 months and includes a hands-on practicum with online simulations. The effective net price is around $20,834, and former students report median earnings near $40,283. The schoolwide graduation rate is about 41%, and program-level first-year earnings have not been published.

  • Fully online, 10-month certificate
  • 30 total credit hours
  • 120 clinical hours via practicum
  • Minimum 2.0 GPA required
  • Capstone project required
  • Prepares for CCMA certification
  • Personalized instruction and coaching

Brookline College-Tempe

#6

Tempe, AZ · $20,000 – $25,000/yr (est.)

Brookline College-Tempe offers a 33-week Medical Assisting diploma at its Tempe campus, using real-world labs and simulations to cover clinical, coding, billing, and electronic records tasks. The effective net price is around $22,297, and former students report median earnings near $29,576. The schoolwide graduation rate is about 40%, with no program-level first-year earnings published.

  • 33-week diploma at the Tempe campus
  • Real-world labs and simulations
  • Covers coding, billing, and EHR systems
  • Prepares for medical assistant roles
  • Projected field growth of 16% through 2031

Chandler-Gilbert Community College

#7

Chandler, AZ · $2,000 – $9,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Chandler-Gilbert Community College in Chandler offers two campus-based Medical Assisting certificate tracks: Medical Administrative Assisting and Clinical Medical Assisting, each with a practicum. The effective net price is around $12,726, and former students report median earnings near $51,111. The collegewide graduation rate is about 30%, though program-specific rates are not published.

  • Focuses on front-office skills like scheduling and billing
  • Includes administrative practicum
  • Requires CPR/BLS certification
  • Level One Fingerprint Clearance Card required
  • Transfer pathway to NAU available
  • 24 total credit hours
  • Prepares for hands-on patient care including vital signs and lab tests
  • Current CPR/BLS Provider card required
  • Fingerprint clearance is required for clinical placement
  • Serves as foundation for AAS degree

Did you know medical assisting is projected to be one of the fastest-growing healthcare support careers in the country? The Bureau of Labor Statistics expects employment of medical assistants to grow 12 percent from 2024 to 2034, much faster than the average for all occupations, making now a smart time for Maricopa-area students to enroll.

Common Questions About MA Programs Near Maricopa

Find straightforward answers to the questions prospective medical assistant students near Maricopa ask most, based on local program details and certification requirements.

How long does it take to become a medical assistant in AZ?

Training length varies by school and format. For example, Pima Community College runs 12 months4, PMI offers a 9-month certificate5, UEI College takes 10 months6, and Arizona College completes in 31 weeks1. Cochise College fits into two semesters3. Part-time or hybrid schedules may extend the timeline.

What is the cheapest medical assistant program near Maricopa, AZ?

Exact costs aren't publicly confirmed, but community colleges like Maricopa Community Colleges or Pima often have lower tuition than private schools. One shorter option, AL Train Assisting, lists a 4-month program2, but pricing details aren't available online. Always compare total expenses, including fees and supplies.

Do you need CAAHEP accreditation to sit for the CMA exam?

No, CAAHEP accreditation isn't required. The American Association of Medical Assistants (AAMA) allows you to take the cma exam if you graduate from a qualifying program or have one year of work experience in the past three years.9 Accreditation still helps ensure quality education.

Can you complete medical assistant training entirely online in Arizona?

No, there are no fully online programs in Arizona that include the required clinical training.10 Many schools offer hybrid models with online coursework, but all require in-person labs and an externship, such as Arizona College's 5-week externship1 or Pima's hybrid format4.

What are the prerequisites for medical assistant programs near Maricopa?

Most programs require a high school diploma or GED. Additional prerequisites can include a typing test, fingerprint clearance, TB test, Hepatitis B vaccination, and CPR certification. For example, Cochise College mandates all of these plus an advisor meeting3, and Maricopa Community Colleges require you to be at least 188.

Recent Articles