Most important takeaways…
- Apply by January 4 for Co-Lin's $1,000 January 11 cohort.
- Requires ACT 14 or WorkKeys Bronze, plus high school diploma or GED.
- Complete drug screen, background check, immunizations, hepatitis B proof or declination.
A prep timeline, compliance checklist, and comparison tips before seats fill
Two enrollment paths diverge in late fall: applicants who start paperwork in October, and applicants who wait until after New Year's. In October 2026, the difference is measurable. Copiah-Lincoln Community College's Wesson campus starts a clinical medical assistant cohort January 11, 2027; registration closes January 4, days after the holiday, with tuition at $1,000. Applicants also need a high school diploma or GED and an ACT or WorkKeys benchmark, according to the college's announcement.
The real bottleneck is clinical clearance: physical, drug screen, background check, immunization records, and hepatitis B documentation. Outside turnaround times make January 4 a deadline to manage in November.
A clinical medical assistant program teaches the hands-on skills used in exam rooms, labs, and front-desk handoffs every day. You learn to work directly with patients while a provider directs care, so the training is more physical and protocol-driven than a general office course.
Most January-start programs cover the same practical areas: - Vitals: blood pressure, pulse, temperature, respirations, and oxygen saturation - Phlebotomy: safe blood draws and capillary sticks - Injections: intramuscular, subcutaneous, and intradermal technique - EKG: lead placement and basic rhythm tracing - Specimen handling: collection, labeling, and transport - Patient intake: chief complaint, medication list, allergies, and history You will also practice infection control, medical asepsis, and documentation in an electronic health record.
A full-day, three-days-a-week schedule is a genuine time commitment. If you work or care for children, start arranging coverage now rather than after classes begin. Expect reading, skills practice, and study time outside those hours.
Externship or supervised clinical practice usually comes near the end, letting you perform these skills with real patients. Check whether the externship site is assigned or whether you must secure your own placement. Exam prep may be woven through the course or offered as a review module. Remember that a program certificate is not a certification. After finishing, you still sit for the CMA or CCMA exam to earn the credential employers recognize. Also ask if CPR certification is included, since many clinical sites require it.
January-start clinical medical assistant programs commonly run about four to five months, from early winter into late spring. The table below compares start and end dates, registration deadlines, weekly schedules, and published tuition for a few 2027 cohorts. Pay attention to the gap between registration deadline and first class day: Co-Lin's Jan. 4 deadline leaves just one week before its Jan. 11 start, while other programs ask for applications months ahead.
| Program | Start and End Dates | Registration Deadline | Schedule or Format | Tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Copiah-Lincoln Community College (Co-Lin) Certified Clinical Medical Assistant | Jan. 11, 2027 to May 17, 2027 | Jan. 4, 2027 | In person; Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM | $1,000 |
| Alvin College Clinical Medical Assistant | Jan. 4, 2027 to Mar. 13, 2027 for CMA Medical Procedures; externship Mar. 15, 2027 to May 14, 2027 | Not specified | Hybrid; Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, 6:00 PM to 8:30 PM; externship schedule TBA | Approx. $2,025 in district or $2,130 out of district; excludes screening, physical exam, books, licensing exam, supplies, and scrubs |
| Penn State Health GROW Medical Assistant Program (HACC/PSH Cohort) | Jan. 18, 2027 to June 10, 2027 | Interviews held Oct. 5, 2026 to Nov. 4, 2026; apply to be invited | In person at HACC Harrisburg Campus; Monday through Thursday, 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM | 100% tuition coverage; no upfront cost for accepted students |
| Salem Community College Certified Clinical Medical Assistant | Feb. 8, 2027 to Apr. 2, 2027; additional spring starts Apr. 5, 2027 and June 7, 2027 | Not specified | In person; Monday through Friday, 8:30 AM to 3:00 PM; 200 hours over 10 weeks full time | $2,000.00 |
| Lincoln Land Community College Clinical Medical Assistant | Class: Jan. 19, 2027 to June 1, 2027; orientation Jan. 12, 2027; externship June 7, 2027 to June 16, 2027 | Spring registration begins in October of the prior year | Tuesdays and Thursdays, 5:30 PM to 9:30 PM; externship typically Monday through Friday, 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM; 160-hour externship | $4,490 including textbooks and CCMA certification exam; additional costs include background check, drug screen, and scrubs |
| Austin Community College Medical Assistant | Jan. 2, 2027 to May 31, 2027 | Spring 2027 semester registration begins Oct. 12, 2026 | Not specified | $7,944.00; Fast Track price $3,972.00; additional fees apply |
A January clinical medical assistant start is really an October to December project, and backward planning is the difference between a clean enrollment and a missed cohort.
Use the Copiah-Lincoln Community College (Co-Lin) Wesson campus cohort that begins Jan. 11, 2027, as a concrete model. Its registration deadline is Jan. 4, so treat that date as the last gate, not the starting point. October and November are for comparing programs, scheduling the ACT with a minimum score of 14 or the ACT WorkKeys Bronze, and requesting high school or GED transcripts. December is for the physical, drug screen, background check, immunization records, and hepatitis B proof or signed declination. Early January is for final registration and payment.
Testing slots are not always immediate, and you should not assume a test center has same-week availability. The hepatitis B vaccine series can take months if you are starting from zero, so a signed declination may be your realistic route if you cannot finish it before the deadline. Old immunization records can also take a week or more to retrieve from a previous school or clinic.
Deadlines tend to be firm, and a January cohort can fill before the listed cutoff. If you are within a few weeks of the deadline, call the program office before paying anything. Ask whether a waitlist exists and when the next start date is.
Book your ACT or WorkKeys appointment now, even if you have not chosen a program. Testing availability often drives the whole timeline, and a score in hand keeps every January option open. This one action removes the biggest scheduling risk.
Clinical placements usually require documentation before you can attend a clinical site, not just before you enroll. A missed deadline can block attendance even if you’re enrolled, so gather these records early.
Tuition is only one part of the bill. Co-Lin's $1,000 January cohort is a low-end reference point, while many community college programs run $3,000 to $5,000 and private trade schools can top $18,000. For a January deadline, confirm which fees are due before the first class day, because some programs collect tuition and compliance costs before or at registration while certification exam fees usually come later.
| Cost Item | Typical Range | When You Pay It | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Co-Lin $1,000 program quote; community college programs typically $3,000 to $5,000; private trade schools typically $15,000 to $20,000 | Confirm with program; Co-Lin registration deadline Jan. 4, 2027 | Co-Lin's $1,000 is a low-end reference point, not the total program bill. |
| Background check | Not published separately; a $400 to $800 college-program estimate includes books and fees | Not published; confirm if it is due before the first class day | The available source does not list a separate background-check-only price. |
| Nine-panel drug screen | Not published | Not published; confirm early for a January deadline | No exact nine-panel drug-screen figure found in available sources. |
| Physical and immunizations | Not published | Not published; confirm before the January start | Required items include physical, immunization records, and hepatitis B vaccination or signed declination. |
| Books and fees | Included in the $400 to $800 college-program estimate; no separate textbook price published | Not specified; typically part of college-program costs | Textbooks may be required before the first week of classes; check with the program. |
| Uniforms and supplies | Not published | Not published | No exact uniform figure found in available sources. |
| CMA (AAMA) certification exam | $125 per attempt | Due when applying to sit for the exam | Each retake requires paying the exam fee again. |
| CCMA (NHA) certification exam | $165 per attempt | Many training programs bundle the fee into tuition; otherwise paid through the standard testing path | Certification valid for 2 years; renewal fee $185. |
Training for a January clinical medical assistant program is often cheaper than the sticker price suggests, but the funding routes have real eligibility rules.
Start with your local American Job Center or workforce development board. WIOA Individual Training Accounts can cover tuition and some required costs, but you usually need to be determined eligible first, and the program must be on your state's eligible training provider list.1 Award amounts vary by local board and available funds, so ask what the account can cover before you register.
Traditional Pell funding usually requires a credit-based certificate program at a Title IV eligible school.2 Many clinical medical assistant programs are non-credit, so ask the financial aid office whether yours qualifies. A newer Workforce Pell option took effect July 1, 2026 for qualifying short-term programs, generally 150-599 clock hours and 8 to under 15 weeks, but institutions must be Title IV eligible and accredited, and students still file the FAFSA.3 Eligibility varies by program and state, so verify directly.
If you already work in a clinic or health system, ask about tuition assistance. Federal rules allow employers to exclude up to $5,250 per year for educational assistance from your wages, whether paid directly or through a written reimbursement plan.4 Programs may also offer installment payment plans, so a $1,000 tuition cohort could be spread across smaller payments before the start date.
A truly free clinical medical assistant program almost always has strings: grant funding, workforce-board eligibility, employer sponsorship, or a service commitment. When you see "free" in a search result, check who funds it, who qualifies, and what you owe if you drop out or leave the employer too soon.
CMA (AAMA) eligibility generally requires graduation from a program accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) or the Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools (ABHES). Program-level accreditation matters because the CMA (AAMA) exam's standard student and recent-graduate routes depend on it; a school-level institutional accreditation alone is not enough. Graduates can apply within 12 months of finishing, and students may register no earlier than 30 days before completing all coursework, including a supervised ambulatory practicum. In some cases, accreditation at any point during your enrollment, or graduation within 36 months before the program became accredited, may also satisfy the requirement.
Don't rely on a brochure or admissions call. Use the CAAHEP Find an Accredited Program tool and check the exact campus and program title. Only programs currently accredited or holding a Letter of Review appear there. If it's not listed, it is not currently CAAHEP-accredited. For ABHES, use its directory and confirm the specific institution and program with the program director, not marketing materials alone.
The CCMA (NHA) route is more flexible. It does not require CAAHEP or ABHES accreditation. The standard route is a high school diploma or GED plus a medical assistant training or education program completed within the last five years. You can also qualify with one year of supervised clinical medical assisting experience within the last three years. This means a non-accredited short program may still help you earn the CCMA and get an entry-level job.
A non-accredited program can still provide useful skills and a path into the field, especially if your goal is the CCMA. But if you later want the CMA (AAMA) credential or plan to bridge into nursing or advanced allied health roles, a non-CAAHEP/ABHES program can limit your options and may not satisfy future prerequisites.
Use this side-by-side worksheet before you pay or commit. The January 11, 2027 Co-Lin cohort on the Wesson campus is a useful point of reference: tuition is $1,000, classes meet Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m., and the registration deadline is January 4, 2027. When you search near you or for online options, keep in mind that clinical medical assistant programs still require in-person lab checkoffs or externship hours for hands-on skills, even in hybrid formats.
| Factor | What to Look For | Question to Ask Admissions |
|---|---|---|
| Accreditation | Recognition by a body accepted for the CMA or CCMA exam you plan to take, with proof of programmatic or institutional approval. | Is this program accredited in a way that makes me eligible to sit for the CMA or CCMA exam after I finish? |
| Externship hours and placement help | A defined number of supervised clinical hours plus active help securing a site, not only a contact list. | How many externship hours are required, and do you place me with a site or just give me leads? |
| Schedule and format | Clear days, times, and whether content is in person, online, or hybrid, with lab skills done hands-on. | Which parts are online, and where do I complete the required in-person lab or clinical skill checkoffs? |
| Exam eligibility and prep | Graduation that meets exam eligibility rules, with exam prep included in the program price where possible. | Does tuition include exam prep and any exam voucher, or are those separate costs due later? |
| Completion and job placement outcomes | Published completion rates and job placement support for recent cohorts, not only student testimonials. | What share of recent students completed on time, and what job placement help do graduates actually receive? |
| Total cost | An itemized list of all costs beyond tuition, including background check, drug screen, immunizations, books, scrubs, and exam fees. | Can you give me a written list of every fee I will owe between now and the first day of class? |
Finishing a clinical medical assistant program is not the finish line; it is the setup for your first credential and, if you stay in healthcare, a possible path toward registered nursing.
The order is usually clear. Complete the classroom and lab coursework, finish your clinical externship, then sit for a certification exam such as the CMA or CCMA. After passing, working as a medical assistant builds the clinical exposure that later strengthens a nursing application.
There is no universal direct MA-to-RN bridge. Medical assistant training and certification rarely earn college credit, and externship hours do not count as RN clinical hours. If you know now that you may pursue an associate degree in nursing, start prerequisite coursework early: - Anatomy and physiology I and II: Many programs require both with labs. - Microbiology: Typically requires a lab and has a 5 to 7 year recency rule. - English composition: One to two courses, usually 3 credits each. - Other common courses: Psychology, college algebra or statistics, and sometimes chemistry.
Check with the nursing program you plan to attend about which credits they accept, because transfer is on a case-by-case basis.
Confirm your January clinical medical assistant program, then put the application deadline on your calendar. That single move turns a long-term career goal into a first semester you can actually begin.