Skip to content

Medical Assistant Programs in and Near Kerrville, TX

Compare accredited programs within 60 miles of Kerrville — tuition, formats, and career outcomes to help you choose the right fit.

By Jennifer GubblerReviewed by Editorial StaffUpdated August 21, 202619 min read

Most important takeaways…

  • Peterson Regional Medical Center anchors Kerrville healthcare with 1,300 employees.
  • Online medical assistant training still requires in-person clinical externships near Kerrville.
  • Accreditation affects eligibility for several medical assistant certification exams.

Kerrville does not have its own accredited medical assistant program running today, which surprises many local students who assume the Peterson Health job market comes with a matching training pipeline right in town. It doesn't quite work that way.

Instead, Kerrville students typically build a training plan around commuting to San Antonio, Fredericksburg, New Braunfels, San Marcos, or Boerne, or pairing an online medical assistant course outline with a local clinical externship. That split between classroom flexibility and in-person requirements is the practical tension driving most decisions here: one of the biggest pros and cons of being a medical assistant is that a program forty minutes away with strong hospital ties can outperform a fully remote option that leaves you scrambling for a placement site.

Jump straight to the program list →

Why Kerrville Is a Smart Place to Start a Medical Assisting Career

Peterson Regional Medical Center anchors Kerrville healthcare as a 124-bed acute care hospital at 551 Hill Country Drive1 with more than 1,300 full-time employees across Peterson Health2 and 488 affiliated clinicians nearby.1 For a medical assistant student, that scale matters because one health system supplies many of the medical assistant externship and entry-level job opportunities in Kerr County.

A dominant local employer with multiple clinical settings

Peterson Health is the largest healthcare employer in Kerr County2, and its footprint goes well beyond the main hospital. Students can gain exposure at the Community Care Clinic and Urgent Care on Junction Highway, the Medical Plaza and lab on Bandera Highway, the Surgery Center, the Pevehouse Ambulatory Care Center, and hospice and home care locations.3 The network also extends into Bandera, Comfort, and Fredericksburg.2 This range of settings lets medical assistant students practice clinical medical assistant duties and responsibilities such as front-office duties, rooming, vitals, phlebotomy, scheduling, referrals, and care coordination in real clinics rather than only in a classroom.

Hill Country demographics push demand for primary care

The growing retiree population in the Texas Hill Country is a second reason Kerrville makes sense. Older adults tend to need more frequent primary care and specialist visits, and medical assistants are often the first staff members patients see. That steady demand supports externship placements and job openings in family medicine, cardiology, orthopedics, women's health, and urgent care settings around Kerrville.

No state license, but certification still matters

Texas does not require a state license for medical assistants, which lowers the barrier to entry. You can work as a medical assistant without certification, but employers can afford to be selective. National credentials such as CMA, RMA, or CCMA give Kerrville graduates a competitive edge for hospital-affiliated clinics and larger practices, especially when the local job market centers on one major health system.

Local college access and the San Antonio corridor

Schreiner University is the only postsecondary institution located in Kerrville. It is a four-year university rather than a dedicated medical assistant school, so it is worth checking for allied health or prerequisite coursework, but most Kerrville students access Texas medical assistant programs at the certificate and associate levels about 60 miles southeast in the San Antonio metro corridor. That commute is doable for many students, and it usually opens up more program formats, schedules, and externship partners.

Can You Study Medical Assisting Online From Kerrville?

Yes, but with a major asterisk. The tension is flexibility versus hands-on requirements. Online medical assistant certificate Kerrville TX options can make the classroom portion easier, but the clinical externship still ties you to real healthcare sites in or near the Hill Country.

Online Coursework Is Real, But the Externship Is Not

Schreiner University in Kerrville lists a Clinical Medical Assistant certificate online, typically running 4 to 6 months. Schreiner's program page lists $2,499 total tuition, and the university has said that cost includes 12 months of e-learning access, textbooks, workbooks, technical support, certification review, and exam registration coordination. The program prepares students for the NWCA Clinical Medical Assistant Certification and the NHA Certified Clinical Medical Assistant. For Kerrville residents, this is the most local online certificate option, but it still requires an in-person clinical component.

Other ranked programs follow the same pattern. University of the Incarnate Word in San Antonio offers a hybrid certified clinical medical assistant certificate with 80 clinical hours and Saturday in-person classes. Southern Careers Institute lists a hybrid learning format with 178 clinical hours, and Pima Medical Institute lists a hybrid learning option. Fully online didactic coursework is available, but 100% remote completion is unlikely because medical assisting requires supervised patient interaction and hands-on skill checks.

What Kerrville Students Should Verify

Before enrolling, confirm the exact number of clinical hours and whether the program helps place you at a Kerrville-area clinic or a San Antonio corridor site. Some programs allow local clinical placement; others expect more commuting. Also verify whether online classes are live at set times or self-paced, because that affects how well the program fits your schedule.

Part-Time and Evening Access

If you work while training, ask directly about part-time pacing and evening availability. Program listings do not always show scheduling details, so request a sample weekly calendar. Accelerated certificate tracks can be efficient, but they may be harder to balance with a full-time job.

Commuting to Campus From Kerrville: Drive Times and Distance

Is the Tivy High School Certified Medical Assistant program open to adults in Kerrville, or is it limited to enrolled high school students? Before you map out a commute to any campus, that is the first question to answer, because the closest program may not be the right fit if you are not eligible to enroll.

Start With the District CTE Page

Start your commute planning by checking the Tivy High School website or the Kerrville Independent School District (KISD) career and technical education (CTE) page. Look for the Certified Medical Assistant program listing and confirm whether it is still active for the 2025-2026 school year or has been updated in the current KISD catalog. The listing should state whether enrollment is limited to high school students or open to community adults, and it may describe the class schedule, clinical expectations, and whether the program prepares students for a national certification exam.

Call the School Before You Drive

Website details can lag behind real-world scheduling changes, so call or email the Tivy High School counseling office or CTE coordinator directly. Ask whether adult community members can apply, what the weekly time commitment looks like, and whether there are prerequisites, fees, or certification prep requirements that affect your commute. This direct step is especially important for Kerrville-area adults who may assume a local high school program is not an option.

Cross-Check Credentialing Requirements

While you are verifying the program, cross-check the certification path through the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics for medical assistant job outlook and through the American Association of Medical Assistants (AAMA) or the National Healthcareer Association (NHA) for current credentialing details. That way you can judge whether a program near Kerrville actually supports the certification you intend to pursue.

If the High School Program Is Not for Adults

If Tivy High School or KISD confirms the program is only for enrolled students, ask the counseling or CTE staff for referrals to nearby adult education options, community college medical assistant training programs, or medical assistant trade schools. Then verify those options through their official websites or enrollment offices before committing to a longer drive. Many Kerrville-area students combine a manageable commute with online coursework, but the right distance depends on your actual eligibility and schedule, not just the school's proximity.

Questions to Ask Yourself

  1. Can you commit to a 60-mile commute to San Antonio several days a week, or do you need a primarily online program?

    Driving to San Antonio for clinical labs several times weekly eats fuel, time, and energy. If that is not realistic, a hybrid or online-first program with local externship placement is worth prioritizing.

  2. Do you want a certificate you can finish in under a year, or an associate degree that opens doors to advancement?

    Certificates get you into an exam room faster and cheaper, while an associate degree can support future moves into billing, office management, or nursing prerequisites.

  3. Is national certification important for the employers you are targeting, and does the program qualify you to sit for that exam?

    Many Kerrville clinics and hospitals prefer CMA or RMA credentialed hires, so confirm the program's accreditation actually makes you eligible before you enroll.

  4. Can you complete a clinical externship at a Kerrville-area facility, or will you need to travel for clinical hours too?

    Local placements save on gas and lodging and build connections with hiring managers nearby, while travel-only externships add cost and logistics you should plan for early.

Cost and Tuition Comparison for Medical Assistant Programs Near Kerrville

Costs for medical assistant training near Kerrville vary widely by credential and school type. The figures below come from school-reported program details and College Scorecard net price data, so some entries show a stated program cost while others use average net price, the amount students typically pay after grants and scholarships. Contact each school for current tuition and financial aid details because published figures can change from year to year.

SchoolProgramCredentialFormatLengthEstimated Cost
San Antonio CollegeMedical Assisting, A.A.S.Associate degreeCampusNot reportedIn-district $5,542; out-of-district $9,952
Pima Medical Institute-San AntonioMedical Assistant Certificate ProgramCertificate or DiplomaCampus (hybrid option available)9 monthsProgram tuition not reported; average net price $21,882
University of the Incarnate WordCertified Clinical Medical AssistantCertificateHybrid16 weeksTotal program tuition $4,500
The College of Health Care Professions-San AntonioMedical AssistantAssociate degreeCampus (blended option available)36 weeksStarts at $17,400
Southern Careers Institute-San AntonioMedical Assistant Certification and Training ProgramCertificate or DiplomaCampus (hybrid format)9 monthsProgram tuition not reported; average net price $29,458

Accreditation and Certification Exam Eligibility

Does the accreditation status of a medical assistant program actually change which medical assistant certification exam you can take after graduation? The short answer is yes for several national credentials, and this is one of the most important details to confirm before you enroll in a Kerrville-area program.

Why Programmatic Accreditation Matters

CAAHEP and ABHES are the two main accrediting bodies for accredited medical assistant programs. Programmatic accreditation is different from a school's general regional or national accreditation. It reviews the specific medical assisting curriculum, clinical externship requirements, and faculty qualifications.

For the CMA (AAMA) credential, the standard education pathway requires graduation from a program accredited by either CAAHEP or ABHES.1 The AAMA also lists non-program pathways for some applicants, but the accredited program route is the most direct option for new students.2 The RMA (AMT) credential has its own eligibility routes, and published requirements do not make CAAHEP or ABHES accreditation a single fixed rule. The CCMA (NHA) credential typically requires completion of a high school diploma and a training program or work experience, but NHA does not state a Texas-specific requirement for CAAHEP or ABHES accreditation.

The Three Main Certifications in Texas

  • CMA (AAMA): Often preferred in physician offices and clinics. Standard new-student pathway depends on completing a CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited program.
  • RMA (AMT): Another recognized option. Eligibility routes vary, so confirm directly with AMT before assuming any program qualifies you for RMA certification.
  • CCMA (NHA): Common in outpatient and specialty settings. It may be open to students from a broader range of training backgrounds, but employers may still prefer an accredited program.

Texas Does Not License Medical Assistants

Texas does not require medical assistants to hold a state license, and certification is not the same as licensure.1 However, many Kerrville-area employers prefer or require a national credential before offering an interview. The credential you choose can affect which job listings you qualify for, so exam eligibility should be part of your school decision.

Before You Enroll: Verify the Program

Before you commit, ask the school to confirm its current CAAHEP or ABHES status. If a program is not accredited, you may still complete training, but your path to CMA (AAMA) could require an alternative eligibility route. Check the certifying body's current rules and match them to the program's accrediting status.

How Much Do Medical Assistants Earn in the Kerrville Area?

Kerrville is not reported separately, so the San Antonio-New Braunfels metro is the closest official benchmark. While the metro median ($39,180) and Texas median ($39,520) are close, the national median is higher at $44,200. Kerrville's lower cost of living compared with San Antonio may stretch wages a bit further.

Medical assistant annual wages by region: 10th, median, and 90th percentiles for San Antonio-New Braunfels, Texas, and US.

The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics projects 12 percent job growth for medical assistants from 2024 to 2034, a rate much faster than average for all occupations. This translates to roughly 112,300 job openings each year nationwide, reflecting strong and consistent demand for trained professionals in this field.

Admissions Requirements and How to Apply

Most medical assistant programs near Kerrville keep admissions straightforward, but you’ll need to line up a few documents before you can start clinical training.

  1. High school diploma or GED
    Every certificate and associate program requires proof of high school completion or an equivalent credential before you enroll.
  2. Background check and drug screening
    Many schools ask for both before placing you in a clinical externship, so be ready to complete them once accepted.
  3. Immunizations and CPR/BLS
    You’ll typically need current immunization records and may need to earn CPR or basic life support certification before clinical rotations begin.
  4. Submit your application and transcripts
    Start by applying online, then send official high school or GED transcripts. Some programs also ask for placement testing if your scores are older.
  5. Attend orientation
    Once admitted, attend a program orientation to review schedules, clinical site rules, and required supplies.
  6. Know the enrollment differences
    Community college certificate and associate options are usually open enrollment with no GPA minimum, while private schools may set additional requirements like an interview or entrance exam.

Accredited Medical Assistant Programs Serving Kerrville Students

Below are the top medical assistant programs serving Kerrville students, ranked by accreditation status, program fit, and student outcomes. The options focus on San Antonio campuses within commuting distance and on online or hybrid formats that reduce the drive from Kerrville. Each entry highlights program length, price, and certification readiness so you can compare practical next steps.

How we ranked these
Factors considered
  • First-year retention rates
  • Earnings ten years after entry
  • Accreditation and certification exam readiness
  • Program length and format
  • Net price and financial aid
Data sources
  • Federal institutional data (NCES-IPEDS) covering graduation rates, retention rates and student-faculty ratios — nces.ed.gov
  • BEA Regional Price Parities (state cost of living) — bea.gov
  • College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) — caahep.org
  • Internal program database
  • Independent program research

San Antonio College

#1

San Antonio, TX · $5,000/yr (est. net price)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Best for: Affordability-focused Kerrville commuters

San Antonio College is the strongest public option for Kerrville-area learners who want an affordable, accredited route into medical assisting without relocating. The school offers both a CAAHEP-accredited Level II certificate and an Associate of Applied Science degree, with limited fall entry and hands-on training in EKGs, phlebotomy, and injections. Enrollment is capped at 24 students per cycle, so applying early matters.

  • Associate degree program
  • Fall-entry-only enrollment
  • Limited to 24 students
  • Application period starts September 1
  • Hands-on clinical training in EKGs, phlebotomy, and injections
  • Administrative duties included
  • Prepares for certification exams
CAAHEP accredited
  • CAAHEP and MAERB accredited
  • One fall start date per year
  • 67% licensure pass rate
  • 60% job placement rate
  • Prepares for CMA (AAMA) or RMA (AMT)
  • Limited enrollment of 24 students
  • Free tuition for eligible students

University of the Incarnate Word

#2

San Antonio, TX · ~$23,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Best for: Working adults needing online flexibility

University of the Incarnate Word offers two short, career-focused certificates that work well from Kerrville: a 16-week hybrid clinical medical assistant track and a 13-week online medical administrative assistant track. The clinical program includes Saturday on-campus sessions and an 80-hour externship, while the online option uses evening synchronous classes. Both prepare students for NHA certification exams and include military and employer-friendly funding pathways.

  • $4,500 total program tuition
  • 16-week program
  • 80 clinical hours
  • Includes 80-hour externship
  • Prepares for NHA CCMA certification
  • Eligible to earn CPT and CET certifications
  • Hybrid format with in-person Saturday classes
  • $4,300 total program tuition
  • 13-week program
  • Synchronous online classes
  • 78 hours of instruction
  • Evening classes Tuesday and Thursday
  • Prepares for NHA CMAA certification

Pima Medical Institute-San Antonio

#3

San Antonio, TX · ~$22,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Hands-on learners preferring campus labs

Pima Medical Institute-San Antonio delivers a nine-month medical assistant certificate with heavy emphasis on hands-on clinical practice, including a clinical externship. Students train in exam techniques, surgical procedures, phlebotomy, and lab work, with on-campus or hybrid delivery options. Career services support is built into the program for graduates moving into physician offices, clinics, or outpatient settings.

  • Nine-month program
  • Hands-on clinical training
  • Clinical externship included
  • Covers exam techniques, surgical procedures, and phlebotomy
  • Lab work and medical law coursework
  • On-campus or hybrid delivery options
  • Career services support

Southern Careers Institute-San Antonio

#4

San Antonio, TX · ~$29,000/yr (est.)

Southern Careers Institute-San Antonio combines 320 hours of lab training with a 178-hour externship in a nine-month certificate format. The program prepares students for six industry certifications, including CCMA and CMAA, and is accredited by the Council on Occupational Education. Military benefits and financial aid options make it a practical choice for career changers in the Kerrville area.

Military benefits
  • Nine-month program
  • 178 clinical hours
  • 320 hours of hands-on lab training
  • Prepares for six career certifications
  • EKG training included
  • Phlebotomy training included
  • Hybrid learning format
  • Accredited by Council on Occupational Education

The College of Health Care Professions-San Antonio

#5

San Antonio, TX · $25,000 – $30,000/yr (est.)

The College of Health Care Professions-San Antonio offers a 36-week medical assistant program that blends clinical and administrative training and prepares students for the NRCMA exam. On-campus and blended learning options give students some schedule flexibility, and credits can transfer toward an associate degree. Program costs start around $17,400, with financial aid available for eligible learners.

  • 36-week program length
  • Flexible on-campus schedules
  • Blended learning options available
  • Hands-on clinical training
  • Prepares for NRCMA exam
  • CPR certification included
  • Credits transfer to associate degree
  • Program costs start around $17,400

Frequently Asked Questions About Medical Assistant Schools Near Kerrville

Below are answers to common questions about medical assistant schools near Kerrville. Use them as a starting point, and verify clinical placement, tuition, and exam eligibility directly with each program before applying.

Are there any medical assistant schools located in Kerrville, TX?

Yes, but only at the high school level. Tivy High School in Kerrville launched a Certified Medical Assistant program for students in Fall 20231. As of 2026, no adult career school or college-based program physically located in Kerrville was found. Nearby schools within about 60 miles may offer commuting or hybrid options.

How long does it take to become a medical assistant in Texas?

The time to become a medical assistant varies by credential and program format. Certificate programs can take as little as 18 weeks at Kilgore College3 or 6 to 7 months at Austin Community College2. Associate degree programs may take up to 2 years at schools such as Dallas College4 or Houston Community College5. Texas does not require certification to work as a medical assistant6, so program length often depends on employer and personal goals.

What is the cheapest way to become a medical assistant near Kerrville?

No Kerrville-specific published tuition was found, so the cheapest path may be a low-cost community college or workforce program within commuting range. Across Texas, examples include $1,950 at Academy of Allied Health7, $2,000 at Kilgore College including the certification exam3, and $2,995 or less at CALRegional8. Ask about fees, books, and exam costs before comparing.

Can I complete a clinical externship in Kerrville or do I have to go to San Antonio?

It depends on the program. Some Texas MA programs include required medical assistant externship opportunities, but published sources do not confirm whether a Kerrville student can complete that externship locally or must travel to San Antonio. Contact the program's clinical coordinator before enrolling to ask where externship sites are typically arranged and whether local placement is possible.

What certifications can I earn after completing a medical assistant program in Texas?

After completing a medical assistant program in Texas, you may be eligible to sit for national credentials such as CMA (AAMA)9, CCMA (NHA)3, or CMAC (CALRegional)8, depending on your program's exam preparation. Some schools award a certificate of completion that is separate from national certification. Texas does not require certification to work, but many employers prefer it.

Recent Articles