Skip to content

Medical Assistant Schools in Tampa: Programs, Costs & What to Know

Compare accredited Tampa-area programs by cost, duration, format, and outcomes to find your best fit.

By Jennifer GubblerReviewed by Editorial StaffUpdated August 19, 202621 min read

Most important takeaways…

  • Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater employed 8,870 medical assistants in May 2023.
  • Most Tampa employers strongly prefer certification though Florida doesn't mandate it.
  • Program costs near Tampa range from under $3,000 to $30,000.

Campus-based certificate programs and online hybrid tracks pull Tampa medical assistant students in different directions, and the right choice depends on your schedule, budget, and how quickly you need to be earning.

Tampa's healthcare footprint is expanding fast. BayCare, AdventHealth, and Tampa General anchor a metro that employed roughly 8,870 medical assistants as of the most recent BLS data, with steady demand across outpatient clinics, specialty practices, and urgent care networks.

Florida does not license medical assistants, so you can technically start working without a credential. In practice, most Tampa employers prefer CMA, RMA, or NCMA certification, and certified hires tend to see better offers. Program cost, accreditation (CAAHEP or ABHES), and medical assistant externship requirements vary widely across the local market.

Jump straight to the program list →

Tampa's Healthcare Job Market for Medical Assistants

Tampa's medical assistant job market is anchored by a dense cluster of large hospital systems, specialty clinics, and outpatient centers that need clinical support staff every single day. If you're training at one of Florida accredited medical assistant schools, you're stepping into one of Florida's busiest healthcare corridors, with steady demand from both major employers and smaller private practices.

Who's Hiring in the Tampa Bay Area

The biggest names on local job boards are the ones you'd expect. BayCare Health System runs a wide network across Pinellas and Hillsborough counties. AdventHealth Tampa and Tampa General Hospital are consistent hirers, both for hospital-based roles and their affiliated physician groups. Moffitt Cancer Center brings in medical assistants for oncology clinics and research-adjacent care teams. HCA Florida hospitals have also expanded across the region, adding more openings each year.

Beyond the hospitals, Tampa has a heavy concentration of outpatient care. Dermatology practices, orthopedic groups, cardiology offices, urgent care chains, and primary care clinics all rely on MAs for core medical assistant duties such as patient intake, assisting with procedures, managing records, and front-office work. If you prefer a smaller, steadier clinic environment over a hospital pace, you'll find plenty of options.

Wages and the Commuting Radius

The most recent BLS data for the Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater metro area shows about 8,870 medical assistants employed, with a median hourly wage of $18.53 and a mean annual wage around $40,200.1 Statewide Florida figures run slightly higher in more recent updates, with medians in the low-to-mid $40,000s and a typical range that stretches from roughly $35,000 at the low end to just under $50,000 at the higher end for experienced MAs in in-demand specialties.2 Actual medical assistant salary levels depend heavily on employer, shift, and whether you hold a national certification.

Don't limit your search to Tampa proper. St. Petersburg, Clearwater, Brandon, Lakeland, and Sarasota all sit within a reasonable commute and post MA openings regularly. Widening your radius by 30 or 40 miles can meaningfully expand your options, especially if you're open to specialty practices.

Growth Outlook

Nationally, the Bureau of Labor Statistics projects medical assistant employment to grow about 12% from 2024 to 20343, which is well above the average for all occupations. Florida's aging population and continued healthcare expansion in the Tampa Bay area suggest local demand should track at least in line with, and likely above, that national pace.

Does Florida Require Medical Assistant Certification?

Online and Hybrid Medical Assistant Programs Available to Tampa Students

Many medical assisting students in Tampa are earning their credentials without stepping into a classroom every day, thanks to online and hybrid programs that move didactic coursework out of textbooks and onto a screen. For working parents, career changers, or anyone balancing a packed schedule, these flexible formats remove the biggest barrier to entry: having to be in a specific seat at a specific time.

Flexible formats that fit your schedule

Hybrid programs blend online lecture work with in-person labs, while fully online programs stream every lesson through a virtual portal. What stays constant across both is the clinical externship (every student must complete hands-on hours at a local healthcare facility), which means Tampa's dense network of clinics, urgent cares, and hospital systems is a genuine advantage. Even a 100% online program won't let you skip that in-person piece, so living within commuting distance of clinical sites still matters.

evening medical assistant classes are another lifeline for students who work daytime shifts. Several Tampa-area schools schedule classes after 5 p.m., so you can attend lab or lecture after your shift ends without cutting your income.

Where to find hybrid and evening options near Tampa

Within a 60-mile radius, multiple programs have formalized flexible scheduling. Hillsborough Community College runs its Medical Assistant Technician program as a hybrid, with online coursework paired with in-person labs on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays from 9:00 to 1:30, a structure that compresses the on-campus commitment into three mornings a week. Tampa Medical Assistant School also uses a hybrid model, with day and evening lab sessions available.

For those who need evenings, Southern Technical College (Tampa and Brandon campuses) offers its Medical Assisting Diploma Monday through Friday from 5:30 to 9:30 p.m. Concorde Career College's Tampa campus lists both day and evening classes for its Medical Assistant diploma, with campus hours extending to 7 p.m. on weekdays. Aguilas International Technical Institute and ATA Career Education in Spring Hill also deliver evening or hybrid evening formats, with ATA combining online coursework with in-person labs four nights a week.5

Ultimate Medical Academy provides a distinct path: its Medical Administrative Assistant program is available entirely online at the diploma and associate-degree levels, with morning and evening class options. While this track leans administrative rather than clinical, it meets the needs of students who want a fully remote didactic experience and can later pursue certification that aligns with their career goals.

What online programs require and what they don't

medical assistant program accreditation matters whether you learn in a classroom or through a screen. Programs that hold CAAHEP or ABHES accreditation (including several of the hybrid and online options in the Tampa area) carry the same certification eligibility as traditional campus programs. Graduates can sit for the CMA (AAMA), RMA, or NCMA exam without disadvantage, provided the program is appropriately accredited.

One thing a fully online format doesn't erase is the externship. Even at schools like Ultimate Medical Academy, where coursework is entirely digital, you'll still need to complete supervised clinical hours at an approved site. That's why schools with a local presence (like those with Tampa campuses) can often streamline placement, connecting you to preceptors in clinics you can realistically commute to. When comparing programs, ask how medical assistant externship requirements are handled: some schools assign sites, others give you a list of approved facilities, and a few ask you to find your own. The local healthcare market in Tampa is robust enough that finding a host site is rarely the obstacle; it's about making sure the program supports that search.

Accreditation Matters: CAAHEP and ABHES Status for Tampa Programs

Not all medical assistant training programs carry the same credentials, and choosing a program without the right accreditation can limit your career options before you even graduate. Understanding the difference between programmatic accreditation and institutional accreditation is one of the most important steps you can take before enrolling.

What Is Programmatic Accreditation?

Programmatic accreditation evaluates a specific program within a school rather than the institution as a whole. For medical assistant programs, two organizations handle this: the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) and the Accrediting Bureau of Health Education Schools (ABHES).

Both CAAHEP and ABHES accreditation qualify graduates to sit for national certification exams, but there is a key distinction. If you want to earn the Certified Medical Assistant (CMA) credential through the American Association of Medical Assistants (AAMA), you must graduate from a CAAHEP-accredited program. The Registered Medical Assistant (RMA) and National Certified Medical Assistant (NCMA) credentials accept graduates from either CAAHEP or ABHES programs.

Accreditation Status for Tampa-Area Programs

Several schools in the Tampa area offer medical assistant training, though verifying current programmatic accreditation status requires checking directly with CAAHEP or ABHES. Based on available information, here is what prospective students should know:

  • Erwin Technical College: Listed in ABHES directory records1, though current status should be confirmed directly.
  • Ultimate Medical Academy: Holds institutional accreditation through ABHES3, but programmatic accreditation for its medical assistant program specifically is not confirmed in current sources.
  • Aguilas International Technical Institute: Referenced with an ABHES identifier1, but current programmatic status is not verified.
  • Concorde Career Institute-Tampa: Offers a medical assistant program, though accreditation status should be verified with the school or directories.
  • Hillsborough Community College: Offers health-related programs, but programmatic accreditation for medical assisting specifically is not confirmed.
  • Altierus Career College-Tampa: Listed among Tampa-area options, though accreditation status is unclear.

Lake Technical College, located outside the immediate Tampa area, holds CAAHEP accreditation for its medical assisting program.2

Why This Matters for Your Certification Goals

A program that only holds regional or national institutional accreditation, without CAAHEP or ABHES programmatic accreditation, may not qualify you to take national certification exams. This could mean additional training later or limited job opportunities, since many employers prefer or require certified medical assistants.

Accreditation status can also change. A program might be on probation, have accreditation pending, or lose accreditation between the time you research and the time you graduate. Before committing to any program, search the CAAHEP directory and the ABHES directory yourself to confirm the school's current standing. This takes only a few minutes and can save you from an expensive mistake.

Questions to Ask Yourself

  1. Does the program hold CAAHEP or ABHES accreditation, and does that match the certification exam I plan to take?

    Graduates of CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited programs can sit for the CMA (AAMA) exam, while other certifying bodies may accept non-accredited training. Choosing a program without this status could limit your exam eligibility later.

  2. Can I attend classes during evenings or weekends, or do I need a fully online option with local externship placement?

    Tampa campuses often offer day-only cohorts, so if you work a 9-to-5 job, online or hybrid formats with in-person clinical rotations may fit better. Verify that the program arranges externships at nearby clinics or hospitals.

  3. Am I looking for a 9-month certificate to start working quickly, or a 2-year associate degree for a broader foundation and potential advancement?

    A diploma or certificate gets you into the workforce fast, but an associate degree can include general education credits that transfer for further study, and some employers prefer it for lead roles.

How Long Does Medical Assistant School Take in Tampa?

Medical assistant students in Tampa can choose between a fast-track certificate or a more in-depth associate degree. The table below breaks down the key differences so you can decide which path fits your timeline and career goals.

Side-by-side comparison of certificate and associate degree medical assistant program timelines and credentials, showing certificate takes 9-14 months and associate takes 18-24 months.

Program Costs and Financial Aid Options in Tampa

Medical assistant training in the Tampa area spans a wide price range, from under $3,000 at public state colleges to nearly $30,000 at private career schools, and the sticker price rarely matches what students actually pay after aid like medical assistant scholarships and grants. Understanding the difference between published tuition and net price (what you owe after grants and scholarships) is the first step in comparing programs honestly.

Approximate Out-of-Pocket Cost by School

Here is what the average student pays annually after grant aid at each Tampa-area program, based on the most recent federal data:

  • St. Petersburg College: Roughly $1,500 net price per year, with in-state tuition around $2,700. This is the lowest-cost option in the region.
  • Manatee Technical College (Bradenton): Around $1,800 for the full six-month program, one of the most affordable certificate paths within commuting distance.
  • Pasco-Hernando State College (New Port Richey): About $5,200 net price annually for the associate degree, with in-state tuition near $3,155.
  • ATA Career Education (Spring Hill): Around $28,250 net price, reflecting private-school pricing for the 17-month combined radiography and medical assisting program.
  • Ultimate Medical Academy (Clearwater): Roughly $29,200 net price for the associate degree.
  • Meridian College (Sarasota): About $29,800 net price for the associate program.

Debt and Monthly Payments

Median debt at completion varies sharply by sector. Graduates of Ultimate Medical Academy leave with around $14,700 in federal debt, which works out to roughly $155 per month on a standard 10-year repayment plan. Meridian College graduates carry about $13,000 in median debt (near $135 per month), and ATA Career Education graduates around $21,000 (near $220 per month). Pasco-Hernando graduates finish with much lower debt, closer to $9,500, and St. Petersburg College graduates report a median around $16,900, though associate-track students there often borrow less.

Federal Aid Eligibility

St. Petersburg College, Pasco-Hernando State College, Ultimate Medical Academy, ATA Career Education, and Meridian College all participate in Title IV, meaning Pell Grants and federal student loans are available if you qualify. Manatee Technical College also offers financial aid for its medical assisting certificate. Hospital-run training programs like the BayCare Medical Assistant Academy operate outside the federal aid system, so they typically do not accept Pell Grants or federal loans, though they may offer employer sponsored medical assistant training instead.

Read Net Price as an Estimate, Not a Guarantee

These figures are averages. Pell-eligible students at St. Petersburg College or Pasco-Hernando can sometimes pay close to nothing out of pocket after grants, while students who do not qualify for need-based aid pay closer to the full sticker price. Certificate programs almost always cost less in total than associate degrees, but per-credit-hour costs at private schools can be several times higher than at state colleges, so always request a personalized financial aid estimate before you commit.

Externship and Clinical Training Requirements

Externship details vary among Tampa-area medical assistant programs. The following table summarizes required hours, placement processes, and clinical partners where information is available. Note that some programs do not publicly disclose all aspects of their externship arrangements.

SchoolRequired Externship HoursClinical Partners
Concorde Career College Tampa200 hoursNot specified
Manatee Technical College190 hoursIntercoastal Medical Group, First Physicians Group
Ultimate Medical Academy180 hoursNot specified

CMA, RMA, and NCMA: Choosing the Right Certification Path

Three national credentials dominate the medical assistant hiring landscape in Tampa: the CMA certification from the American Association of Medical Assistants (AAMA), the RMA certification from American Medical Technologists (AMT), and the NCMA from the National Center for Competency Testing (NCCT). They are not interchangeable, and the medical assistant program you choose largely determines which exam you can sit for.

What Each Credential Requires

  • CMA (AAMA): You must graduate from a program accredited by CAAHEP or ABHES. This is the strictest eligibility path and the most widely recognized credential in hospital settings.
  • RMA (AMT): Accepts graduates of ABHES or CAAHEP programs, and also allows candidates who meet military training or documented work experience routes.
  • NCMA (NCCT): Has the broadest eligibility. Graduates of nationally accredited programs (including some that are not CAAHEP or ABHES accredited) may qualify, as can candidates with qualifying work experience.

Matching Tampa Programs to Credentials

Hillsborough Community College's CAAHEP-accredited program prepares students directly for the CMA exam. Ultimate Medical Academy (ABHES-accredited) points graduates toward the RMA or NCMA. Concorde Career Institute's Tampa campus is ABHES-accredited and also feeds the RMA pathway. Shorter, non-accredited certificate courses in the area typically funnel graduates toward the NCMA route only. If a specific credential matters to you, confirm eligibility with the school's admissions office before you enroll, not after.

What Tampa Employers Actually Want

Large health systems in the Tampa Bay area, including BayCare and AdventHealth, frequently list "CMA preferred" or "CMA required" on their medical assistant job postings. Independent physician offices and urgent care chains are usually more flexible and will accept RMA or NCMA. Before committing to a program, spend an hour reading current job listings from the employers you actually want to work for.

A Note on Pass Rates

Most Tampa schools do not publish exam pass rates on their websites. AAMA publishes aggregate CMA pass data by program, but school-specific numbers are not always broken out publicly. Ask admissions directly for their most recent first-time pass rate, and treat any refusal to share it as useful information in itself.

The Tampa-St. Petersburg-Clearwater metro area employed 8,870 medical assistants as of May 2023, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics. Nationally, the BLS projects medical assistant jobs to grow 12.5% from 2022 to 2032, much faster than the average occupation.

Top Medical Assistant Programs for Tampa Students

Below are the top medical assistant programs serving Tampa students, ranked using IPEDS completion data, accreditation, and program fit. The list includes schools within a 60-mile radius offering certificates and associate degrees to help you enter this growing field.

How we ranked these
Factors considered
  • Accreditation status
  • Program cost and net price
  • Graduate outcomes and placement
  • Program format and flexibility
  • Institution-wide graduation rate
Data sources

ATA Career Education

#1

Spring Hill, FL · $28,000/yr

Best for: Dual radiography and assisting credentials

ATA Career Education in Spring Hill combines medical assisting with limited radiography, leading to dual certification. The institution's overall graduation rate is 67%, and its net price is about $28,250. The hybrid associate degree program can be completed in 17 months.

  • 17-month hybrid program
  • Prepares for Florida Limited Radiography and CMA certifications
  • Combines online coursework with campus labs
  • Includes hands-on x-ray and patient care training
  • Career placement assistance available

Manatee Technical College

#2

Bradenton, FL · $2,000/yr

Best for: Budget-friendly six-month certificate

Manatee Technical College delivers a budget-friendly medical assisting certificate with a total tuition around $6,269. The institution's overall graduation rate is 64%, and its net price is approximately $1,808. Students complete the 900-hour hybrid program in as few as six months.

  • 900-hour hybrid program completed in as few as six months
  • Total tuition approximately $6,269
  • 92% job placement rate over five years
  • Prepares for CCMA, CET, and Phlebotomy certifications
  • 190 hours of clinical experience
  • Fall start with on-campus labs Tuesday-Thursday

St Petersburg College

#3

St. Petersburg, FL · $1,000/yr

Best for: Five-month accelerated CMA preparation

St Petersburg College offers a fast Clinical Medical Assistant certificate that can be completed in under five months. The institution's overall graduation rate is 38%, and its in-state net price is about $1,471. The hybrid program includes an externship and CMA exam preparation.

  • Complete in less than five months
  • Hybrid format with online, labs, and externship
  • Prepares for national CMA certification
  • In-state net price around $1,471
  • Covers clinical and administrative duties

Pasco-Hernando State College

#4

New Port Richey, FL · $5,000 – $10,000/yr

Pasco-Hernando State College provides a three-semester Medical Assistant Career Certificate at its West Campus in New Port Richey. The institution's overall graduation rate is 41%, and in-state tuition runs about $3,805. The program requires a physical exam, CPR certification, and background screening.

  • Three-semester program with fall intake
  • In-state tuition approximately $3,805
  • Located at West Campus in New Port Richey
  • Requires physical exam, CPR, and background check
  • Prepares for entry-level medical assisting roles

Ultimate Medical Academy

#5

Clearwater, FL · $20,000 – $25,000/yr

Ultimate Medical Academy, with campuses in Clearwater and Tampa, offers both a diploma and an associate degree in clinical medical assisting. The institution's overall graduation rate is 55%, and its net price is about $20,457. Both tracks include a 180-hour externship and certification exam preparation.

  • 18-month program with 61.5 credits
  • Online or hybrid at Clearwater/Tampa campuses
  • 180-hour externship included
  • Prepares for CMA, RMA, and CCMA exams
  • Focus on clinical procedures and phlebotomy
  • 11-month program with 34.5 credits
  • Online or hybrid availability
  • 180-hour externship included
  • Prepares for CMA, RMA, and CCMA exams
  • Core clinical skills with no general education requirements

Meridian College

#6

Sarasota, FL · $30,000/yr

Meridian College in Sarasota delivers an Associate of Science in Medical Assisting through a campus-based format. The institution's overall graduation rate is 51%, and its net price is around $29,812. An externship and placement assistance support career entry.

  • Campus-based program with hands-on training
  • Externship included for real-world experience
  • Prepares for Registered Medical Assistant certification
  • Placement assistance available
  • Covers clinical and administrative skills

Common Questions About Medical Assistant Programs in Tampa

Prospective medical assistants in Tampa often have questions about certification, costs, and training formats. Here are straightforward answers to the most common queries, based on current Florida guidelines and program realities.

Do you need to be certified to work as a medical assistant in Florida?

No, Florida does not mandate certification. You can work as a medical assistant without certification under physician supervision without a state license. However, many employers prefer or require a credential, and using the title "certified medical assistant" means you must have graduated from a program accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies or a board-approved entity.1

Can you complete medical assistant training entirely online in Tampa?

Fully online programs with no hands-on component are not available in Florida. Even online-based programs require in-person clinical training or an externship. For instance, some online providers mandate a self-arranged 100-hour externship before you can graduate, making hybrid training the norm.2

What is the best medical assistant program in Tampa?

There is no single "best" program for everyone. Focus on accreditation: look for CAAHEP or ABHES recognition, which qualifies you to sit for the CMA or RMA exams.3 Compare local options based on cost, length, and clinical placement support, and choose one that fits your schedule and career goals.

How much does medical assistant school cost in Tampa, FL?

Costs vary widely by school. Some online, self-paced programs advertise tuition around $1,500,2 but that may not include lab fees, externship coordination, or exam fees. Local Tampa-area colleges may have different pricing, and financial aid is often available. Contact schools directly for current figures.

Are there CAAHEP-accredited medical assistant programs in Tampa?

Yes, CAAHEP-accredited medical assistant programs exist in Florida, though specific Tampa locations may not be listed in public directories. You should visit the CAAHEP website to search for accredited programs near you, or contact schools directly to confirm their status. ABHES accreditation is another valid pathway.3

Recent Articles